Prove or Improve?

Post a guard at my mouth, God, set a watch at the door of my lips. (Psalm 141:3)

image

Have you ever said something you have later regretted? Have you ever regretted even a thought before you spoke it? It’s ok if you answered yes, we all do; I’m thankful for your honesty.

We don’t have to be limited by our emotions, ladies. We don’t have to be known as the one who ‘looses her temper’ or as the one who ‘says mean things.’ I recently read an amazing book (‘Unglued’ by Lysa TerKeurst) and she suggests thinking of two things before even opening your mouth during conflict…

1) What is my goal with this statement?

2) Am I trying to prove or improve?

That second one totally resonates in my heart. Am I trying to prove or improve. Hmmm. When I really think about it….statements I have said that have caused the pain of regret later have been said with the intent to prove myself ‘right’. I downright wanted the victory. Have you ever felt like that? It doesn’t take very long before the defeat settles in does it?

My poor husband. Really. May I remind you all I am an imperfect work in progress?! 🙂 If there is anyone I try to ‘prove’ it with, it would be my dear husband. However I am praying that in time I will be much quicker to ask myself how I can change ME in order to improve rather than to prove….. And hopefully my sweet husband will continue to grant me grace along the way 😉

My sister, you were made for more than being in a vicious cycle of defeat. You were not made to be a victim of your poor choices. You were made a victorious child of God.

Check this out: No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. (Romans 8:37)  That doesn’t mean because he loves us we can always win the battle…no, it means that because he loves us he will give us the strength to overcome this tendency to ‘prove’ and fill us with the power to instead ‘improve’ our relationship with this person.

I love what comes after that verse above: For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord. (Romans 8:38-39)

It brings me great peace to know that my God still loves me even though I might mess up. My poor choices don’t define me or keep me away from God. He loves me and nothing in this life will ever separate me from His love.   His love, His LOVE gives me the strength to succeed in overcoming. Will you allow his love to permeate your heart? Will you give Him all the regrets, all the defeats and every ‘want to prove’ so you can feel peace today?

Leave a Reply

