Friendship: Requires time. (Part IV)

“By yourself you’re unprotected. With a friend you can face the worst. “(Ecclesiastes 4:9)

image

Mother Theresa said: “Loneliness is the leprosy of our modern day society!” I couldn’t agree with her more. I remember a time in my life when I, even though constantly surrounded by significant amounts of people, felt lonely and isolated. It’s not a good place to be.

I remember crying out angrily to God- asking why, when I had sacrificed so much to do his work, to be in ministry for him, he would allow me to reach such desperate lows.

My change of heart never came at a specific moment in time necessarily. No, the answer did not even come as I expected. No one reached out to me. Instead, God gave me a drive and a desire to pour my heart into “being” a friend. Hospitality became a passion. Having people over for dinner and fellowshipping with fellow believers. Having coffee with ladies that I admired and sharing our hearts.

Being a friend takes chunks of unhurried time.

When you give up your time for someone else, it matters. It blesses them. Giving chunks of unhurried time are like the stones to a firm, trusting, and loyal friendship foundation.

By giving the gift of quality time; you too are a blessed recipient.

It’s so easy in this present culture that’s filled with social media to neglect a face-to-face conversation. Can I challenge you ladies, to engage in real- life, in-person fellowship with your sisters in Christ. If you are feeling lonely — get out there. Make someone’s day by inviting her to coffee. Make sure it is on a day that you won’t need to rush off and be here or there- but on a day when you can just love on your sister, giving her the gift of unhurried time.

Heavenly Father, you know our hearts. You see the ladies that are reading this post right now saying “that’s me, Lord! I am so lonely!” Lord I ask that you will fill their souls with confidence and courage to take some new steps in being a friend. We know that you heal the broken hearted, binding up their wounds and I pray that you will begin to work a healing in my lonely sisters hearts this very moment. Thank you for the gifts of friendship that you have blessed me with personally and I pray that you will cultivate those friendships and keep them strong. In Jesus name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

