Cindy’s post….Pasta sauce…….

‘As he looked up, Jesus saw the rich putting their gifts into the temple treasury. He also saw a poor widow put in two very small copper coins. “I tell you the truth,” he said, “this poor widow has put in more than all the others. All these people gave their gifts out of their wealth; but she out of her poverty put in all she had to live on.”’ (Luke 21: 1-4)

In a large bloated pot, sizzles the ground beef and pork, swimming in olive oil doused with garlic. Then the crushed tomatoes and tomato paste cover the cooked meat. Finally the herbs and seasonings; the fresh basil, oregano, salt and pepper are added to taste. A dash of sugar is the secret ingredient and is added to complete the recipe. The sauce is left to simmer for hours; always better tasting the second day. A fragrant offering of my husband’s hands.
It is a recipe passed down from generation to generation. More than a recipe really, a gift. Every family’s hallmark is a different tasting sauce marked by a recipe slightly changed to uniquely identify their clan. I so appreciate my husband’s rich Italian history.
I have seen people’s needs and so many times have been discouraged by our limited resources to help. Then I am reminded of the widow’s offering. We have pasta sauce! It is frozen and ready to serve.

Our offering has been given to the hurting, the healing, as Christmas and welcoming gifts, to celebrate the beginning of life and to mourn the loss of life. It has been given to individuals and to families. We work as a team; my husband prepares and I deliver. It is what we have to offer in this season of our lives.
Our family has been the recipients of similar offerings through His people. Prayers, words of encouragement, gifts of music, time, donations and acts of service have been offered and have been such a blessing that the expression of gratitude just doesn’t seem enough.
Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,
Thank You for Your provisions and that no matter the season of our lives You have given us something to offer. Help us to see the needs of others and to use these provisions to help those You have placed in our lives. We want to be Your hands and feet.

2 comments

  1. Cindy, I loved your post of the ” Pasta Sauce”, what a beautiful analogy. We have all been given gifts to share – they come in all forms and sizes. In the course of my life, I have been blessed so so many times and have been the recipient of offerings. I remember vividly during a bad season when I was struggling as a single parent and trying hard to make ends meet. Christmas was around the corner and I had been laid off a couple months earlier. It was just a few days before Christmas and I was trying to figure out how i was going to meet my children expectations of gifts and a nice holiday meal. I was running some errands and someone came by the house and dropped of a load of groceries which included a holiday turkey all the necessary fixings – among all of these things was a bouquet of flowers and a bottle of wine. Just recounting this story brings tears to my eyes and fills my heart.with so much gratitude. I will never know who did this but I think of them often and bless them. I hope I can use whatever provisions I have to meet someones needs the way my needs have been met.

    God Bless You!

    Rosie

    Like

  2. Thank you so much Rosie for sharing!! What an incredible story!! I find that as we share with one another our faith is strengthened! God bless you and your family 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

