Mandy’s post– Wholly Committed!

Now faith is being sure of what we hope for, being convinced of what we do not see. (Hebrews 11:1)

Today was the day. Our youth group’s annual trip to one of the funnest places this side of heaven: Cedar Point amusement park! I love visiting this place- I’m totally a coaster girl. My husband is not, so coming along with the youth group gives me a chance to ride and get this need-to-thrill out of my system annually πŸ™‚

I had an epiphany moment while climbing the first slope of a ride called “Gemini” today! Gemini is one of the original rides at the park. Wooden in structure it seems a bit more ‘rickety’ than the others πŸ˜‰ As we were making our first ascent of the ride I became very aware of how much ‘trust’ I was putting in both the architect that designed this ride and the people who check it daily to ensure its safety.

image

Without even a conscious effort I was believing that this ride would be safe for me. That it would not break down mid-way. That it would not collapse. Or worse yet, that it would not catapult me off at an accelerated speed tossing me into Lake Erie!! …..Glory be!!!!!!

I was without even trying, putting true faith into practice by being sure of what I hoped for (not dying as a result of a ride-gone-bad), and being convinced of what I did not see (trusting the safety standards of the management at cedar point!)

Isn’t this exactly how we are supposed to live our lives with respect to God?! To have faith- a faith that does not even take effort. Trusting in the one who has without a doubt proven faithful time and time and time again?!

Absolutely.

Even more so, when God asks us to do something extraordinary for him, why do we waste so much time worrying about the who’s, what’s, where’s, when’s, why’s and how’s?

If God has called us to it, He WILL bring us through it!

Because He is faithful.

Because He is trustworthy.

Trusting and having faith in God may feel risky and unsure at first, but if we push through those risky and unsure moments, we will surely see how faithful and true our wonderful God is…..and trusting God and having faith in Him, will eventually become natural.

image

….just like the trust we put in those things like riding the Gemini.

Father God, I thank you so so much for your faithfulness to us. Thank you that when you call us to do something you never leave us or forsake us. Thank you for equipping us to do your work- whatever work you call each one of us to do. I pray for boldness for my sisters- to take risks in having faith and trusting that if you have brought us to it, that you will bring us through it. I pray that we can be women who follow hard after you- wholly committed to furthering your kingdom. We praise you God in advance for the things you’re already preparing for victory….Amen!

“Blessed is the {woman} who trusts in the Lord, whose trust is the Lord. {She} is like a tree planted by water, that sends out its roots by the stream, and does not fear when heat comes, for its leaves remain green, and is not anxious in the year of drought, for it does not cease to bear fruit.” (Jeremiah 17:7-8)

6 comments

  1. Oh My goodness!!! I wish you could of heard me say awww!!! with a large gasp of air.. The verse you quoted was a defining “rhema” moment for me. Thank you for posting this you have encouraged me and helped me see what God is lining up.

    Like

  2. Love this blog post. It spoke volumes to me! That is so me trusting a roller coaster ride more than I fully trust God. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

