Mandy’s post– Debt.

“Let no debt remain outstanding, except the continuing debt to love one another, for he who loves his fellowman has fulfilled the law.” Romans 13:8

image

From the very beginning my husband Nathan has been the ‘money manager’ of our home. He has always been wise about money and has taken providing for our family very seriously.

I haven’t always been the easiest person to work with. I will confess I have had a few ‘princess’ moments over the years, ashamed as I am to admit it. I remember one Sunday after church early in our marriage- I asked my hubby if we could go to Swiss Chalet for lunch. He kindly told me we should go home instead and save the money. I refused to eat lunch at all in protest. Looking back I feel so ashamed and embarrassed, that I let a perfect opportunity to be a helpmate for my husband in his effort to be a good steward with our money, slip by.

I’m happy to say I’m aware of the mistakes I made as a young wife. Today, I’m delighted to walk alongside my husband as he makes financial provision for our family. I have truly been blessed with a man who prioritizes honouring God with our money. A man who is willing to draft monthly budgets, organize income vs. expenses, chair our ‘budget meetings’, and provide oversight for our family finances! I have found a deep sense of security in my hubby and his willingness to care for our family this way. Many men do not care at all.

Does this mean we are rich….haha, I actually have to laugh. Not. At. All. However, we take what comes in and ensure that we spend no more. Trust me, I get it, living within your means is not an easy thing to do in a world where credit cards are so easily accessible. {especially if you are used to living above your means.} But, like anything else, if you make it a priority and if you do it long enough; it will come naturally.

Do you spend above your means?! Do you know where you are at financially?! Do you feel like you’re drowning in debt? Let me tell you something so simple, yet so profound it will change your life. Seriously.

Are you ready for this?

If you feel like you are drowning in debt, stop making more debt. Making more debt isn’t going to lighten your load- it’s going to make it heavier. In Romans 13 you will find this verse: “Let no debt remain outstanding, except the continuing debt to love one another, for he who loves his fellowman has fulfilled the law.”

image

I would like to share a thought with you that has become our family motto over the last several years. If you don’t have the money, don’t buy it. If you do have the money, make sure what you are about to purchase is a real need, otherwise use your free money to pay down pre-existing debts.

Now, what if you do not ever have ‘free money’ (free money = money that is left over at the end of the month that is not needed for expenses.)
There’s a pretty simple solution for that too- make some cuts!! Research cheaper cell phone plans. Cut dance lessons or soccer and help your children stay active in FREE ways. Cut cable. Try some new {cheaper} recipes to save on your grocery bill. Walk if you can rather than take the car to save on gas. It’s doable, sisters!

You can save money if you try- you just have to make a conscious effort and choose to do so. You have to want to.

The key thing to remember when working with your money is to honour God with your choices. If you honour him, you will be abundantly blessed.

Father God, THANK YOU. Thank you that no matter if we have a little, or if we have a lot, we are blessed. I pray for my sisters who are struggling with their finances. God, I pray that you will give them wisdom on what to do, where to go next. Help them make their difficult decisions; cutting this and that, spending no more than they have, working with what they do have. I pray God for a boldness for my sisters- that they will choose from this very moment on to honour YOU with their finances. You alone. I pray that my sisters will soon only have the debt to love one another remaining. Thank you again for all of your provision and blessings, we love you God! Amen.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

