Mandy’s post– Glimpses of God

Do everything without grumbling or complaining, so that you may be blameless and pure, children of God without blemish though you live in a crooked and perverse society, in which you shine as lights in the world (Philippians 2:14-15)

Are they ready?! Your children that is….

It’s back to school time and I had SO much fun looking at the many pictures of my friends children who started classes yesterday and today. My two kindergarteners will start on Monday the 9th because the K’s are held back one week here.

The question that I am sure has flitted in and out of many mama’s minds the past couple of days hasn’t been far from mine either: “Are they ready???”

My oldest son, when he started JK last year !
My oldest son, when he started JK last year !

Now, this question when asked by our culture today could translate into the following: Do they have their backpack? Their books? Some new fall clothes? Inside shoes?

I was challenged when I read Philippians 2:14-15 today. Not only challenged personally but as a Mama as well. Sisters, we live in a crooked and perverse society, that is true; nevertheless, we are different. We have the Lord in our hearts, which makes us His lights of the world. It’s our responsibility to let that light shine.

We are His representation.

Do you do everything without arguing and complaining like this verse indicates? I believe that as a parent we have an even more complex job to do. Not only is the world looking to us, expecting us to be different, we also have these incredible little people watching us as they learn to navigate through this thing called life. These little people whom we adore, that the Lord himself has entrusted to our care.

Are we preparing them to shine brightly as they head off to school?! Are they ready to be “a city on a hill” (Matthew 5:14) !? Are we pleasing the Lord with OUR actions and reactions? Are we passionately pursuing a life after Christ that our children can replicate while at school, bringing glory to our great God?

Can I urge you that there is no time better than this very moment to start shining brightly, allowing God to be seen in us as people are looking on. In doing so not only will people see glimpses of God in your life personally, but I believe that in leading-by-example others will begin to see glimpses of God in our children’s lives as well. Let us endeavour to be cities on a hill.

Are they ready?! Are YOU ready?!

Heavenly and gracious father, thank you for the incredible blessing our children have brought into our lives. We count it as an honour and a privilege to be your light; your city on a hill. I pray Father that as we go about our every day that we will be especially conscious of the little eyes and ears that look to us. I pray that we will represent you well and that we will shine bright! Amen.

6 comments

  1. Wow, what a lovely post. Thank you for sharing it with us all.

    I remember reading a parenting article. It listed like 10 tips for better parenting. I can’t remember nine of them, but the one I do remember was something like this: your kids are always watching–so be quick to apologize and admit you’re wrong; this will teach them to do the same when they need to.

    It really hit me! I’m not a parent yet, but I am so quick to act out of my anger or complain. I don’t want my kids to be like that. I don’t want them to find things to grumble about. I don’t want them to walk around thinking they don’t have to apologize. It makes sense though, because even things my parents did growing up that I thought were trivial at the time have stuck with me. Kids are always watching. I hope I set some kind of positive example for my nieces and nephews!

    I hope your little ones have a great school year! And I hope you have a lovely day ^__^

    Like

  2. Do everything without grumbling or complaining….seems to be for me one of the hardest things to do and yet it’s really not much to ask given that each day, each task, each lesson is a blessing wrapped up with opportunities to grow. Loved your post, thanks for sharing and blessings to you and your kids as they head out into the world!

    🙂 Trish (P31 OBS small group leader)

    Like

Leave a Reply

