Mandy’s post — Life on purpose {part II}

Don’t you see that children are God ‘s best gift? the fruit of the womb his generous legacy? Like a warrior’s fistful of arrows are the children of a vigorous youth. Oh, how blessed are you parents, with your quivers full of children! (Psalm 127:3-4)

image

Like marriage, a family too requires intentional effort.

Work schedules, school schedules, marriage, ministry, and just life in general can sometimes cloud our eyes from seeing the need to pour into these little lives we have been so beautifully blessed with.

Remember when I mentioned in my post on Tuesday how my husband and I sat down one cold day in January and really examined our priorities?! There were four things that needed our special attention and we put our best efforts into prioritizing them well….our marriage, our family, our ministry and our finances were the things at the very top and we decided we needed to be more intentional about giving attention to them consistently. From these discussions birthed our “Family Fridays!

Family Fridays started out at a local McDonalds play place. Every Friday night after my husband got off work we would head into the city and the kids would get a happy meal, play time on the jungle gym and the beloved McDonalds toy! More than that, they got their Mommy and Daddy’s undivided attention. This time was their time. We have since, broadened our activities but the point is this time is devoted to them. I believe that it has been one of our best decisions as their parents.

My hubby and I believe that our children are beautiful treasures from God himself. We want our children to know that they are worth so much more than co-existing in life with the same last name and blood type as us! They are fearfully and wonderfully made by the Almighty God and we are so excited for them to learn this. {For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. (Psalm 139:13-14)} We want them to know this not just because we have told them so; but because we have shown them so. Worth our time. Worth our efforts. Created BY God, for a great purpose.

How better to show them this than to give them our undivided attention and time on a consistent basis.

Sisters, let’s truly endeavour to live our lives on purpose. Please do not miss out on the incredible treasures right in front of you!

 

image

Father God, thank you so much for blessing us with our three beautiful treasures. I pray that you will help us to show them how much you love and value them by exemplifying a love like yours. Please help us as we endeavour to raise our children in the way they should go; your way. I pray for my sisters and their families….I know that life is crazy busy and that scheduling a whole day or evening where everyone’s schedules match can be difficult, but I also know it’s so important and worth it!! Help us to truly treasure our families in ways that honour you and bring you glory! I pray this in your name, Amen.

 

 

Leave a Reply

