Cindy’s post…..one flesh

“For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and they will become one flesh.”  (Genesis 2:24)

 blog one flesh

I am the oldest in my family.  The only girl followed by two younger brothers.  As a first born, I thrive on being in charge, and have on numerous occasions in my childhood and even recently been called ‘bull headed’.   I am reliable and super conscientious.  I am highly motivated by success and making other’s happy. 

My husband of 19 years is the youngest in his family and need I mention the only son with 3 older sisters.  He is fun loving, uncomplicated and outgoing.  We laugh saying he was born with a crown on his head!! 

One of the hardest things for us to do, even after these years of marriage, is to grocery shop together.  I only purchase what is necessary, there are no treats and the healthiest, most economical items are only included!  My husband, well, (thankfully), includes treats, quite a few actually, and gets what fancies him at that time.

It amazes me over the years how our God has changed us to be more like one another.  Where he now makes a grocery list and I welcome some treats!  Really, these changes go beyond shopping.  We experience, very similar workings of the Holy Spirit.  Our individual relationships with our Lord complement each other.  We can encourage each other, not only, with hugs and practical support but with words of the Truth and prayer. 

We are starting to understand what becoming ‘one flesh’ really means.  We are coming alongside one another emotionally, intellectually, physically and most importantly spiritually as lead by God.  I never want my husband to lose his crown and with it all that God has created him to be.  I believe that’s the beauty of God’s oneness:  two people created for a specific purpose becoming closer and closer in all realms to portray God’s glory and honour! 

When reflecting on this scripture, “…..they will become one flesh” (Genesis 2:24) I see a promise.  That it will happen.  As we allow God to direct us in loving on our spouses that we will become one flesh! 

Not if,

not it might happen,

but it will!! 

There is hope in this promise, not just for the little everyday things, like grocery shopping but even for the big stuff.  Because we serve a big God! 

“Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.” (Hebrews 11:1)

Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,

Thank You for the gift of marriage.  Thank You Lord that you have created our spouses just as You intended.  That You have brought us together with our spouses for a specific purpose; to reveal Your kind of love, forgiveness and mercy.  Jesus, I pray especially for those right now who are experiencing ‘big’ stuff in their marriages.  That they would not give up hope.  That their eyes would be opened to the promise in becoming one with their spouses.  That it’s possible.  We give You permission Lord to work in our own hearts towards our marriage. That we can forgive when forgiveness is needed; that we can love with the love of Christ and that we can give mercy when our spouse needs mercy.  I pray these things in Your Son’s Jesus’ name.  Amen.

 p.s. A very Happy Birthday to my wonderful husband on this very day!!

Leave a Reply

