Cindy’s post…..Change

As I swept off the daily filth from the dust pan outside my back door, I couldn’t help but notice the sky. On one side were dark, menacing clouds and on the other, as if coming together in battle, was the clear night. There was no mistake about it, a change in the atmosphere was happening.

june 2013 129
Hot verses cool; day verses night; summer verses fall.

I am so thankful for the change in seasons here, with every stage offering its own delight. With fall, I am anticipating the climax of the fall colours, opening windows to fresh, temperate breezes and smelling autumn flavours.

As this season sweeps in, I am reminded that change does come about.

I am so thankful for changes in me, in my beliefs, my attitudes, my thoughts, my perceptions, my obedience and my doings.

Sin verses righteousness.

You see, I haven’t always been this way; a Spirit-filled believer.

At a young age, I confessed with my mouth, ‘Jesus is Lord,’ and believed in my heart that God raised him from the dead (Romans 10:9). Then I walked away; real far. I committed big sins. No, I am not proud of this, it is quite shameful really. Since that time and it has been some time now, I have been continuing to work out my salvation with fear and trembling (Philippians 2:12).

Sure I have tried, oh so tried, in my own strength and my own abilities to think, say and do the right thing but nothing, absolutely nothing changes me like the promptings of the Holy Spirit. The Holy Spirit, Who dwells in me and Whom I have received from God (1 Corinthians 6:19).

We cannot miss the next verse, ‘for it is God who works in you to will and to act according to his good purpose.’ (Philippians 2:13)

I know that God isn’t finished with me yet. I want to be changed from glory to glory. I know this is possible because the Bible tells me so,

‘But whenever anyone turns to the Lord, the veil is taken away. Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom. And we, who with unveiled faces all reflect the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his likeness with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.’ (2 Corinthians 3: 16-18)

Like the change in the seasons, I am being transformed in His perfect timing, and in His perfect way, for His perfect plan.
blog fall leaves

Let us be open to the promptings of the Holy Spirit.

‘Since we live by the Spirit, let us keep in step with the Spirit’. (Galatians 5:25)

Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,
We want to live for Your glory, truly. Reveal Yourself to us by the promptings of the Holy Spirit. Transform and renew us. We want the fruit of the Spirit; love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control (Galatians 5:22). Thank You for Your promise, ‘that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.’ (Philippians 1:6) It is our heart’s desire. In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

