Cindy’s post…..Change in our marriage

As this fall season sweeps in, I am reminded that change comes about constantly in our marriage. Like the fallen leaves our God prunes in our marriage; the unfruitful.

‘I am the true vine, and my Father is the gardener. He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful.’ (John 15:1&2)

blog pruning

I don’t know about you but we experience ‘forgiveness issues’. An offense is made and forgiveness is dead bolted behind a condition. If only the right words are said, if only the right ‘thing’ is done, if only the offense is fixed, if only…..

We go against the Bible’s instruction,

‘Do not judge, and you will not be judged. Do not condemn, and you will not be condemned. Forgive, and you will be forgiven’. (Luke 6:37)

My biggest hindrance to allowing God to work through me is thinking I somehow have to ‘feel’ or ‘do’ in my own volition. So not true, all I have to do is, listen to Jesus,

‘Remain in me, and I will remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me.’ (John 15:4)

When we allow our God to work in and through us; when we chose to obey His Word, precepts and laws it provides for The Way. When we choose to forgive without condition and ask for forgiveness ourselves, He comes in and gives us all we need to press down the feelings of self-righteousness. Only then can true forgiveness and healing take place.

blog apple-tree-
Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,Thank You Lord for the gift of marriage. Thank You Lord for Your cutting off and pruning, truly Lord, we thank You that You are so merciful to not let us hold onto things and ways that are harmful to us and those so precious to us. Lord, God continue to show us Your ways, continue to help us to remain in You; this is our heart’s desire. In Jesus’ name we pray. Amen.

2 comments

  1. How timely Cindy, thank you for this. I am going to share this with some very special people in my life, who are struggling in their marriage.

    Like

  2. Thank You Lord! I believe every marriage so matters to Him!
    Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,
    Lord, God You know who is struggling in their marriage; You know them full well. I pray Lord that hearts would be drawn to You and to each other. That there would be an openess to forgiveness and the battle would be fought together. That hope would be restored. In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen

    Like

Leave a Reply

