Mandy’s post– Destination: Happiness….?

“I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do all this through him who gives me strength.” Philippians 4:11-13

I shared my infertility story with you last Thursday….during those years of ‘waiting’ I experienced so many emotions. Sadness, impatience, unhappiness and hopelessness to name but a few. Looking back on those years, I wish I had learned the wisdom from the above scripture….. {to be content whatever the circumstances}.

image

Sisters, please allow me to ask you a question…Are you making happiness your destination or are you allowing happiness to be your way of life whatever the circumstances?

It’s easy to take your dreams {like falling in love and getting married, having a baby, establishing a career, buying your home, etc} and turn them into goals, but be careful not to wait on being happy until your dreams and goals come to fruition. You can choose to be happy now; in all things.

image

Be cheerful no matter what; pray all the time; thank God no matter what happens. This is the way God wants you who belong to Christ Jesus to live. (1 Thessalonians 5:16-18)

I think it’s important to keep in mind that happiness should not be the prize we endeavour to claim. Instead, our focus should be to live out our purpose as Christian women by serving, loving and helping others. I believe that when we stop dwelling on what it is that WE want and allow God to work in us and through us, we will discover that His way will bring the ultimate satisfaction and contentment.

Are you allowing happiness to be your way of life whatever the circumstances? Or are you waiting for that dream of yours to take place before you believe that you can truly be happy? How can you change your way of thinking in order to be content in all things? Heavenly Father, thank you that we can find true contentment in you. Please help us to remember Lord that you are our source of life and happiness. Direct us in ways that we can serve, love and help others as you work through us. Help us to embrace each day and the life that you have given to us, finding blessings in all things; regardless of our circumstances. I pray this in your name Jesus, Amen.

Leave a Reply

