Cindy’s post…..worry

If this post is for you, if you are struggling with worry please, if you read nothing else, read the prayer. It’s for you.

It’s Sunday night and I’ve noticed a cast of anxiety sweep over my husband’s face. His whole countenance has changed. My mind started to accept thoughts of worry hours before and I am starting to allow them to turn over and over in my mind; accepting them.

I ask my husband what the matter is and at first he says, ‘nothing’ and then says, ‘everything’.

He expands, “You know, a new week is starting and I’m just thinking about everything that is to come.”

I was thinking the exact same thing.

How am I going to get everything done this week? Will there be enough money for this and that? How do I get everything done yet, still spend quality time with my God, my husband and my beauties? And exercise?!

Turning, toiling and laboring.

In our own efforts; in our own ways; in our own thoughts.

We are starting to accept defeat before Monday has even arrived.

As I comforted my husband, I was reminded of something the Lord has shown me most recently. Jesus’ very own words came to my mind.

“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” (Matthew 6:34)

I realized that by stewing about tomorrow and even into the week I was going against scripture; against what Jesus has taught us about worry. I was going against God’s best for us!

Today only…..

Jesus was quite aware each day had its troubles; that was no surprise to Him. When teaching about prayer He encouraged us to expect the provision of our daily needs. “Give us today our daily bread.” (Matthew 6:11)

Today only…..

There is absolutely something in the focusing on just today. On Sunday our daily needs had been met and then some! We had an abundance of provision, really!

We’ve noticed that when we stop and add up all the todays; all the tomorrows have worked out just fine.

So for today, let’s rest in Him! And take hold of His Truth;

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33)

Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,

Thank You for today. Thank You that You lavishly provide for our needs daily. Lord, God help us to not worry about the tomorrows. Help us to not worry at all. Remind us of Your Truth and promises to provide. We are excited about how You will meet our needs and will proclaim Your glory when the provision happens!

Lord, God I want to pray for those who are seriously doubting Your provision because their circumstances are massive. Most in their same situation would feel the same and would struggle in the same way. Jesus, I pray for a pouring of abundance in their lives. I pray that the floodgates of heaven would open for them. I pray that whatever their need spiritual, physical, emotional, financial,..… that they would cry out to You in holy reverence; to a God that hears and responds. That they would no longer look to their circumstances but only to their God. I pray that those You have placed in their lives would be Your hands and feet and meet needs in real practical ways. All for Your glory and honour, in Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen.

Leave a Reply

