Cindy’s post….. worry in marriage

Again, dear readers, read especially for the prayer.

It’s Sunday night and I’ve noticed a cast of anxiety sweep over my husband’s face. His whole countenance has changed. My mind started to accept thoughts of worry hours before and I am starting to allow them to turn over and over in my mind; accepting them.

I ask my husband what the matter is and at first he says, ‘nothing’ and then says, ‘everything’.

He expands, “You know, a new week is starting and I’m just thinking about everything that is to come.”

I was thinking the exact same thing.

We are growing in our faith; togetherness; oneness.

At first, we are tempted to turn, toil and labor in our own efforts; in our own ways; and our own thoughts.

Then resisting the temptation, we turn to our God in prayer.

First my husband turns to Him in honour and in expressed praise. He then thanks Him for all things. Lastly he bears his soul to the One that he trusts always. Then it’s my turn to do the same.

Together holding hands we realize a peace that surpasses all understanding (Philippians 4:6 & 7).

Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,
Thank You that we can come to You always; that You are always there. Thank You for the gift of marriage and that we can come together; with one another and for one another. Thank You for the gift of peace in all circumstances. Lord, God in our marriages, help us to not worry about the tomorrows. Help us to not worry at all. Help us instead to remember scripture and to pray.
For those Lord, God who are not yet there…..unable to pray out loud as a couple; together in oneness, we ask that You would continue to work in hearts to yearn for You and the promptings of the Holy Spirit. My husband and I are a testimony to those workings and so believe in this happening. That there is hope in the promise seen in, “For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and they will become one flesh.” (Genesis 2:24) And another, “Again, I tell you that if two of you on earth agree about anything you ask for, it will be done for you by my Father in heaven. For where two or three come together in my name, there am I with them.” (Matthew 18:19 & 20) In Jesus’ name we pray, Amen.

Leave a Reply

