{Faith} – “Will you open the door?” by Cindy

“Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come n and eat with him, and he with me.” (Revelation 3:20 NIV)

“Look at me. I stand at the door. I knock. If you hear me call and open the door, I’ll come right in and sit down to supper with you.” (Revelation 3:20 Message)

blog Jesus knocking

I’ve seen the picture many times; the picture of Jesus standing on the outside of a door knocking. His face looks earnest, sincere, hopeful, expectant, inviting, and trustworthy.

He is not forceful, assuming or demanding. Instead, like a dear gentle friend, He politely knocks and waits for your response.

Pursuing, and offering, sacrificially.

He hasn’t called to make sure you are home because He is always available; He’ll come back. He doesn’t care what order your home is in or whether or not you have your make-up on. None of that matters to Him; He doesn’t notice your mess, but your heart (1 Samuel 16:7). Only you matter to Him; just as you are.

He has come to the door, He knocks and He waits.

Will you open the door?

Are you lost? Are you without direction or purpose? Are you wandering?
Jesus said, “I am the good shepherd; I know my sheep and my sheep know me—just as the Father knows me and I know the Father—and I lay down my life for the sheep’. (John 10:14 & 15)

Are you hungry? Is your thirst insatiable? Do you crave without satisfaction?
‘Then Jesus declared, “I am the bread of life. He who comes to me will never go hungry, and he who believes in me will never be thirsty.”’ (John 6:35)

Do you need a miracle? Are you hurting? Are you sick?
‘The dead man came out, his hands and feet wrapped with strips of linen, and a cloth around his face. Jesus said to them, “Take off the grave clothes and let him go.” ‘(John 11:44)

Are you in darkness? Are you hiding?
‘When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”’ (John 8:12)

Do you think your future is without hope?
“For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.” (John 3:16)

Jesus said, “Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God; trust also in me. In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you. I am going there to prepare a place for you.” (John 14: 1& 2)

Do you have shame? Do you think the mistake was too big? Are you unable to forgive yourself?
‘When he had received the drink, Jesus said, “It is finished,” With that, he bowed his head and gave us his spirit.’ (John 19:30)

He knocks, will you open the door?

Perhaps you are a believer and have already invited Him in. You know the Truth but when He visits to have supper with you, you are resistant. You don’t want Him to see your mess. You first want to have everything ‘cleaned up’; somehow thinking that you can clean it up on your own. He wants to help. To help with direction, cravings, needed miracles, darkness, hopelessness, shame and guilt. Will you let Him in?

Perhaps you’ve never let Him in; never responded to His knocking but you know you need someone like Him to visit. Someone who will accept and love you just as you are. He wants, He waits and He has done the only one thing that needs to be done; given His life for you.

Can I encourage you, to open the door.

Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,
God we want to invite You in; into all aspects of our lives. Jesus help us to lay down our messes at Your feet knowing that You have already taken care of them. We need direction, miracles, hope and forgiveness; help us to trust that all of those things are found in You. Most of all God we need to know the kind of love that You are. We love You with all that we are! Amen

3 comments

  1. Thank you, Rosie for your encouragement! He is so good, and wants to be right here with us! God bless you my sister and your family!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

