{Marriage} – “I’m in love!”

By Cindy Morrone

As young as we were when we met, I knew there was something very special about Salvatore. Standing in a wedding together, divinely orchestrated moments, rendered us a couple. We danced to polkas all night long, laughing and ending the evening with a requested kiss.

A beautiful, fall wedding day 19 years ago celebrated the union and consummated the marriage.

My husband is the love of my life, my best friend! He is passionate in all he does and no one on this planet can make me laugh the way he does! He knows my good, bad and ugly, yet accepts me. He helps me be a better person.

I have a confession though, there is another; another love; a first Love!

“We love because he first loved us.” (1 John 4:19)

Without God being my first Love, I am tempted to depend on my husband; tempted to look to him to fulfill me. What an impossible task for any human being! It’s not his place; not his responsibility and even though he would if he could; he can’t and shouldn’t. It just doesn’t work.

But my first Love can.

“And so we know and rely on the love God has for us. God is love. Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in him.” (1 John 4:16)

Psalm 139, one of my most treasured chapters in the Bible tells us all these things. That God knows us intimately because He created us; fearfully and wonderfully. He knows our thoughts; is familiar with all our ways and before a word is on our tongue He knows it completely. That He has ‘hemmed’ us in and has laid His hand upon us! Matthew 10:30 shares with us Jesus’ very own words, “And even the very hairs of your head are all numbered.” And His love for us? “For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (Romans 8:38 & 39)

I’m in love indeed!!

When I realize the depth of my first Love’s adoration for me; I look no further. It’s only then that I can love my husband as I should, unconditionally without regard for what I will get in return. It gives me the freedom to come alongside him as his helpmate so together the battle is won. It means that I can forgive because I have been forgiven (Colossians 3:13) and not because the right word has been said, the right action has been done or flowers have been delivered. It is the kind of forgiveness that allows God to work in the midst.

Jesus is knocking; will you let Him into your marriage?

Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,
Thank you Lord, for the gift of marriage and that we have each other to hold up, celebrate with, and laugh together. God we want You to be our first Love and ask for forgiveness if we have put another in Your place. Instead reveal Yourself to us and open our hearts to really know how much You love us. From the outpourings of this realization, show us how to love those You have placed in our lives. In Jesus’ name we pray, Amen.

Leave a Reply

