{Parenting}: A need for brokenness.

By: Mandy Hill

You call out to God for help and he helps—he’s a good Father that way. But don’t forget, he’s also a responsible Father, and won’t let you get by with sloppy living. (1 Peter 1:17)

As a parent, one of the hardest things I have to do is correct and discipline my children. In my small group we recently discussed how we understand the responsibility to do so….but it makes us unpopular and that’s a tough pill to swallow. Can you relate?

Our children need brokenness. To some, that sentiment may strike a chord of fear. Brokenness when examined from the appropriate perspective however is a good thing. God doesn’t desire to break our spirits, but He wants to break that outer shell, the flesh that prevents Him from being all He wants to be in and through us. I believe this ‘brokenness’ begins as young children.

I believe that as soon as we are cognitively able, God starts the process of refinement. He wants to break off things like pride, selfishness, rebellion and independence and turn them into humility, generosity, submission and dependence on him!

image

As a Mama I desperately want my children to be good. I want them to be kind to others, friendly with their peers, obedient to authority. Sometimes when they don’t measure up I allow that to fall back on me and my ability to parent.

I had a beautiful God moment this very morning….During my time of devotion and reading the word I felt God gently tell me that my children NEED times of brokenness. Times of refinement. These moments of brokenness are not a bad thing, they are what He will use to help me teach my children to live by the spirit and not by the flesh. These moments of brokenness are also moments that build their character. These moments of brokenness will bring a new opportunity every time for me to teach my children in whom their true help comes from and gently lead them to the cross. These moments of brokenness are where God is breaking any sinful traits from my children’s lives that may keep them from HIM.

It’s no longer about who I want them to be; but who HE wants them to be.

It’s no longer about my ability to be the mama with the best behaved kids. Instead, it’s about being a mama on a mission to lead my children in the way of The Lord, in every situation.

Even in brokenness.

Even when it makes me unpopular.

Heavenly Father, thank you for the awesome privilege of parenting. Thank you for the three absolutely wonderful little lives that you have entrusted to my husband and I to raise. I pray God that your Holy Spirit will be present in every situation; guiding us. I know God, that I can not do this Mama thing on my own and ask for you to help me every day, in every moment. In Jesus name, Amen,

2 comments

Leave a Reply

