{Parenting} Worst day ever.

By: Mandy Hill

“How priceless is your unfailing love, O God! People take refuge in the shadow of your wings.” Psalm 36:7

Yesterday was a day where I felt like I was on the set of the movie “The Perfect Storm.” I have two children on antibiotics for infections, my third child is majorly teething. Needless to say, there’s a whole lot of fussin’ going on. And whining. And complaining. And arguing. In addition to all of this…our dog barfed twice because he got into my sons diaper…..yes, you read that right. And regarding ministry….well, don’t even get me started!!

It’s on days like this when; it feels like my husbands funny jokes are attacking my heart, when I start doubting I even have what it takes to be a good Mama to my beautiful babes, and when I wonder if I’m really cut out for ministry at all. I slowly start to morph into a cranky bear. A cranky bear with tears of defeat.

Have you ever had one of those days?!

My husband had a meeting last night, so after my children were bathed and tucked into bed for the night I thought I would get some reading and writing done. I was incredibly exhausted and felt The Lord nudging me to give this time over to Him. To just take refuge in the shadow of His wings, because His love was/is enough to steady my heart.

As I shut the door of my bedroom and began to pray, The Lord met me right then and there. His beautiful presence flooded my weary soul and He began to satisfy me with his priceless and unfailing love.

I felt him nudge me again to pray for those very people in my life that perhaps played lead roles in my version of ‘The Perfect Storm’ that very day. To really pour my heart into blessing them with prayer, no matter how my heart felt. To pray blessings over their lives and to let them bring out the best in me, not the worst.

“To you who are ready for the truth, I say this: Let them bring out the best in you, not the worst. When someone gives you a hard time, respond with the energies of prayer for that person.” (Luke 6:28)

As I prayed blessings into the lives of those who I felt had contributed to my bad day, I felt like God picked me up and removed me from the shadows of my doubt, and placed me safely and securely in the shadow of His wings. How beautiful is that?

image

I started the evening feeling worn down, defeated and so weary. I ended the night with renewed strength and bright hope for tomorrow.

Sister, don’t let a bad day carry on. Stop. Devote some time to our incredible God and allow Him to pick you up from the shadows of your doubt and place you in the shadows of His wings. He is just waiting for you to ask! Will you allow Him to renew your strength today?!

Thank you God for your promptings and your priceless, unfailing love. Thank you God that you would not allow me to wallow in pity from a terrible day, but that you would lead me to a place in you where I can take refuge from the storms of life. Thank you for my children and the blessings that they are to me. Thank you for a wonderful husband that works alongside me to raise these blessings. I pray for my sisters who are too experiencing those ‘bad days’ like I talked about. Please flood their souls with your presence and quench their thirst with your love. Thank you so much God, in your name, Amen.

6 comments

  1. A beautiful post that will minister to many hearts. Everyone experiences The Perfect Storm in one form or another. It’s finding that place of peace and rest with Jesus that calms the troubled seas. You’re a beautiful writer, Mandekins!

    Like

  2. Mandy, I think you need to expand your readership directive in that, your not only ministering to your sisters now but also your brothers, mothers, fathers, and anyone else wanting to hear truths from God!
    I am so blessed from reading your blog that I don’t just “happen” by to read it, I now look forward to reading it! Thanks for allowing God to so wonderfully use you! I love you with all my heart! xoxoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

