{Marriage} Taken for granted….

By: Cindy Morrone

Almost every time my daughters pray, they ask God to bring their Papa (their Italian Daddy) home safely from work. It doesn’t matter whether its bedtime prayers; grace at lunch or the beginning of our home schooling day; that request is always on their hearts. My husband has a long commute; he leaves in the wee hours of the morning and comes home long after supper. He crosses an international border and strategically fights traffic every trip. In their prayers, I am nudged, realizing the importance of petitions lifted up for those everyday miracles that sometimes go unnoticed.

I expect him home at a certain time and on the occasions he is late, I am perturbed. I am perturbed mostly because I have missed him that very day; such a long day; such a hard-working man and our time together is valuable to me. To be honest though, I am also sometimes upset when he is late, because I am inconvenienced somehow. Nudged again, I am reminded to center on what really matters…..my husband is home.

Perturbed, inconvenienced, and taken for granted…..

Weary and tired from a long day, he shuffles in with his left over lunch in hand. He has rose early, worked hard, and battled the world for us. He smiles and offers a kiss.
How could I be perturbed, inconvenienced or take him for granted?

Let’s vow to not take our husbands for granted; even if we are inconvenienced, even if our valuable time with them is somehow less than expected. Let’s remember to, “Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” (1 Thessalonians 5:16-18)

Go ahead, give him a big kiss when he comes home and tell him how happy you are to see him! Let him know that you do not take him for granted!!

Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,
Thank you so much for the gift of marriage! Forgive me Lord. I sometimes take my husband and his safe return home for granted. Forgive me for not appreciating the enormous miracle of bringing my best friend home to us. Thank You for the reminders from our precious ones to pray without ceasing. We continue to pray for our husbands, Lord, that You would keep them and protect them. In Jesus’ name we pray, Amen.

2 comments

  1. How beautiful Cindy, thank you for the gentle reminder. In our fast paced and immediate gratification and communication world we get lost in the web. In a way your read reminded me of my prayers for my own dad when I was young. He to worked so hard for us and he also traveled far with his work truck to get to his jobs. I can remember specifically praying for him as little girl when he would go hunting for a two or three days. I worried about him getting home safely to our family.

    Like

Leave a Reply

