{Parenting} I Gotta Give that Up….Say, what???

By Cindy Morrone

“There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under heaven;” (Ecclesiastes 3:1)

Like I previously shared, I supported my husband’s passion for hunting in our early years. I was happy to ‘allow’ him to go for a few days during hunting season to hang out with his family and I even found it attractive (as long as he had a shower before he came home). However, my support wasn’t lasting.

Our beautiful, girlies came to us at 7 weeks old, so it wasn’t until they were just one that the hunting season rolled around again. A busy, Mom of twin, one year olds was just that, busy. Now, I am not complaining, heaven’s no, you know how my precious ones came to be, but busy nonetheless. The thought of my husband leaving us for several days was daunting. However trying to do the right thing for my husband, I commissioned family help for the weekend and off he went. Well, what a few days it was! Even at their young age, they seemed to know that our family was not together and they reacted differently to everything! They woke through the middle of the night several times, not easily going back to sleep. Thank You Jesus, for my beautiful family and their help. By the time my husband came home I was sure tired.

“Submit to one another out of reverence for Christ.” (Ephesians 5:21)

Then the next season approached and I remembered; I remembered the difficulty and now there were two; two year olds. Deep down I didn’t want him to go but didn’t want to prevent him from going. We struggled and he went. I struggled some more. The next season and the next several approached. With every passing year, I more and more made my disapproval of him going known. I complained and groaned. I certainly did not support his passion. But I did not want to be the cause of him not going; knowing how important it was for him. What a battle for me; one that I didn’t handle well!

Then one year, he told me he had come to the decision to not go hunting. He said he did not feel right about going for several reasons. The most important being that he was directed by God to, ‘let it go for now.’ He realized his priorities for the here and now. That it was not the time to go. He did not feel it was right to leave his family behind and there were also different financial necessities. Now, that’s bravery! His passion had not left; he just listened to his Father and laid it down as directed for a season. This direction could not come from me, that wasn’t my place; it was his and God’s decision to make.

We have all given things up, especially as our families expand. It is no longer just about us, but about all of us. Whether its time, personal pleasures, finances, sleep, or even much more, these are all sacrifices for the greater cause. God knows the desires of our heart and when we delight in Him; make decisions directed by Him; He will not forsake us.

“Delight yourself in the LORD and he will give you the desires of your heart.” (Psalm 37:4)

My husband still hasn’t gone back to hunting yet, but I am certain he will; it matters to him. He will hit the woods once again, all in due season. For now we are enjoying this moment, as a family, realizing that we will never get back this time. We know it’s fleeting and already our precious ones have grown fast enough!

Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,

Thank You Lord for this moment in time; help us to cherish it. Help change our attitudes to joy even though there are many sacrifices. Thank You for Your direction in our lives; for You know what’s best for us and our family. Jesus if there are any sacrifices that need to be made; we ask that You would bring them to our attention. We trust You Lord. Thank You for giftings and desires of our heart; help us to support one another in those blessings. In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen.

Leave a Reply

