{Marriage} Help me, please?

by Cindy Morrone

My husband and I are in business together. No, we are not incorporated, nor do we have a company name. But we are in partnership in a large enterprise. We are in the business of serving together.

We are so honoured and privileged to serve in youth ministry. We have just come back from an amazing youth fall retreat! I am so thankful that we can experience such a working of the Lord together. We both bring something different to the ministry but can serve side by side. It is a blessing and we are thankful for the opportunity.

“Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God’s grace in its various forms. If anyone speaks, he should do it as one speaking the very words of God. If anyone serves, he should do it with the strength God provides, so that in all things God may be praised through Jesus Christ. To him be the glory and the power forever and ever. Amen. “(1 Peter 4:10-11)

Besides youth ministry, we serve in our everyday. Whether it be managing our home and family affairs; parenting our daughters; being a relative or a friend, we intentionally aim to be our Maker’s servants. Our mission is to say or do whatever our Father prompts. I am so thankful we are like minded in our charge.

“then make my joy complete by being like-minded, having the same love, being one in spirit and purpose.” (Philippians 2:2)

However like minded we are; our ways of helping are quite different. To be honest, I sometimes doubt my husband’s approach only because it is can be so different from mine. In retrospect though, if I do not intervene, because he too serves with the direction of the Holy Spirit, his service is well received.

Visiting with my Grandma, I tend to be quiet, all encompassing, over indulging and overwhelming. My husband, (thankfully), brings lightness to the visit and he makes her laugh and perhaps, for a short time forget her ailments. I am so thankful.

Our different giftings compliment each other and complete our service.

I am also thankful for my husband’s leadership in our callings. It has been our experience, thus far, that when God summons us to minister, I receive or take notice of the prompting first. I have learned to wait on the Lord and wait on my husband’s sanction. I trust my husband; because he too is seeking the Lord’s will in our lives and receiving guidance from the Holy Spirit.

“Now as the church submits to Christ, so also wives should submit to their husbands in everything.” (Ephesians 5:24)

I am so excited about future endeavors as we aim to continue to serve together in accordance with our God’s will. We want to be His vessels serving not in our own strength but His; using the gifting He has provided. Complimenting each other and being lead in proper authority. May His will be done!

Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,

Lead us, guide us and direct us. We want to be Your servants; that is our hearts’ desire. Help us to work together and to encourage one another in our gifting to better serve You. We ask You Lord to convict us when we hinder each other and get in the way of Your leading. In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen.

Leave a Reply

