{Parenting} The Stuff that Matters

by Cindy Morrone

blog notes 002

“A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another.” (John 13:34)

Preparing to leave my precious girlies for the weekend, I dove into ‘get ready’ mode. The preparations began months before with arranging their care. In the weeks before, I started to make sure necessities were taken care of, like the laundry being done and semi-cleaning the house. The night before I started to pack and make final arrangements. The day of, I collected the essentials and made the final preparations. My timing was good, I was ready and set to go.

Then my daughter handed me a little note. It read, “Mom & Papa. I love u: I miss u so much. Can u please by (buy) me something if u can if not that’s ok. I love u anway. I will miss you. I love u so very much.” Signed my daughter with affectionate exclamations!

Then it hit me! I hadn’t taken care of the stuff that really matters. Sure I had ensured the basics, but I hadn’t filled up her little heart before we left. I then remembered I usually left notes! So with God given time, I wrote each of them a letter for each night while we were away. I left an envelope with each of their names and the days they were to be opened on their night stands.

While putting our luggage in our vehicles to go my daughters were stalling. I had called to them in urgency our need to leave on time. Soon after they came with hands full of love letters to us! There were words and gifts of affirmation. Each present with instructions on when they were to be opened. Apparently, they had already seen the partially hidden notes! Obviously, our tradition mattered to them! Me too!!

I would love to hear your ideas on ‘loving on’ your family. Have you some special ways/ things that you do that have now become a tradition?

Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,

Help us to love first! Help loving to be our priority for if we, “..seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.” (Matthew 6:33) We ask for heartfelt ideas on how to show our families how much we love them; in ways that they can understand and cherish. Help us to make our love efforts habits that build on a heritage worthy of You! In Jesus’ name we pray! Amen.

Leave a Reply

