{Faith} Whose Child are You?

by Cindy Morrone

I heard her once again. Somehow she surmised her current situations as a result of her past.

Later I listened, it was from someone else and it was explained that because of someone’s circumstances there would always be something missing.

I have thought myself….., but I have done this …and that…. and maybe that is why…..

A situation, a circumstance, a happening, a choice, a doing—all not on purpose but some intentional, all resulting in the same– an effect on our lives. And somewhere along the way the effect determined our identity. Our ‘who’ became only a summary of what was experienced.

Damaged goods; beyond healing.

I couldn’t believe it! I couldn’t accept it!! My Spirit rose up and fought for something different.

Is there anyone who is unredeemable? Has there ever been a circumstance so deadening that there will never be hope? Does the hurt run so deep that it cannot be overcome?

I cannot believe it! I cannot accept it!! My Spirit rises up and I want to fight for something different!!

Is that who I am?

A child of divorced parents; raised by a single Mom? Abandoned because of alcoholism? A teen lost in harmful choices? An infertile woman?

Do these, define me?

Rejoicing, I cry out, “NO!”

I am a child of the most high God! Who has sacrificially purchased me by giving His own life. That’s who I am!! I have been redeemed!! The price of sin has been paid in full.
“But he was pierced for our transgressions, he was crushed for our iniquities; the punishment that brought us peace was upon him, and by his wounds we are healed. We all, like sheep, have gone astray, each of us has turned to his own way; and the LORD has laid on him the iniquity of us all. ” (Isaiah 53:5 & 6)

And ever since, He by the Holy Spirit has been making me new!

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!” (2 Corinthians 5:17) I am a new creation in Christ; the old has gone and the new has come!!

My identity is found in who I am in Christ! I have been adopted!

“But when the time had fully come, God sent his Son, born of a woman, born under law, to redeem those under law, that we might receive the full rights of sons. Because you are sons, God sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, the Spirit calls out, “Abba, Father.” So you are no longer a slave, but a son; and since you are a son, God has made you also an heir.” (Galatians 4: 4-7)

As I imagine myself sitting in the straw beside a shepherd as I reflect on the manger scene, I stare in awe at the babe born by a virgin. This babe who died for me. He came with a purpose. Unimaginable! That everything I have experienced can be laid at his feet and left there, for He has taken care of it all!

Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,

How could I ever express my thanks to You? You, who loved me, yet while I was still a sinner. You saved me, and redeemed me! I so needed Your saving Lord! Continue Lord, to draw me nearer and nearer, and change me from glory to glory (2 Corinthians 3:18). I lay all that separates us at Your feet, believing that You, my Abba, Father, will gently take care of it! Jesus, I pray for anyone who no longer holds onto hope. That somewhere along the way, they have believed that there are things that are impossible for even You. I pray Lord, that You give hope to the hopeless. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

blog nativity

Leave a Reply

