{Marriage} The mission of marriage.

By: Mandy Hill

“Or, say, one person thinks that some days should be set aside as holy and another thinks that each day is pretty much like any other. There are good reasons either way. So, each person is free to follow the convictions of conscience.” Romans 14:5

I have a lot of time to think these days…..I miss my husband and family so much and my thoughts often naturally drift to my boys that are not present with us at this time. I miss the everyday things like enjoying a meal with my family in our own home, at our own table. I miss the hustle and bustle that takes place every morning while trying to get two kindergarteners out the door in time for school.

I miss the nearness of my husband; his touch; our date nights.

image

During my time with The Lord this afternoon I came across this verse in Romans 14:5 “Or, say, one person thinks that some days should be set aside as holy and another thinks that each day is pretty much like any other. There are good reasons either way. So, each person is free to follow the convictions of conscience.”

Everything we do is to be offered to the Lord; and if done so with a pure heart of love, it becomes holy.

I believe that this includes loving our husbands. I think it’s truly time to step up, ladies. It’s time to throw away our cultures mentality that: “If your husband doesn’t treat you like a beautiful princess….that you don’t need to make an effort either.” The way you treat your husband is also an offering to The Lord. If you treat your husband with love and respect out of a pure heart of love; it becomes a holy offering.

Sisters, let’s get rid of our agendas….throw them away. Let’s forget our list of wants and ‘needs’ and give everything we’ve got to the one that The Lord has aligned us with. Let’s not elevate certain acts of service to The Lord as more holy than others (bible study, teaching, speaking, etc), but let’s endeavour to serve Christ in every area of our lives….including in our marriages.

Father God, you make all things new! Thank you, Jesus! I pray that you will reach down your hand and cause discomfort in the hearts of those that do not take serving in their marriages seriously. Jesus I pray that we will truly take our focus off of getting, and instead turn our hearts and minds to how we can give to our men in an effort to show your love to them. Let our mission work begin in our very own homes! I pray this in your name, Jesus, amen.

One comment

Leave a Reply

