{Faith} The Book

by Cindy Morrone

blog Bible

I love to read; it is one of my most favourite past times. On my night stand; by my couch; on my book shelves are various reads of different kinds. Christian fiction, classic tales, and ageless picture books are enjoyed. I have to admit that biographies are my most treasured. Learning about someone’s history and how it is woven into the lives around them intrigues me.

Books that set out to teach us about Christian living are also readily found nearby with several on the go at one time. In my experience, I’ll pick up just the right book at just the right moment; always timely, always helpful (as if I was to read this very one at this very happening).

Oh, if there was just more time to read!!

I read….., I learn….., I grow…..

But no one book has changed or transformed me like “The Book.”

“All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.” (2 Timothy 3:16 & 17)

Filled with:
o biographies, history, testimonies, timelines,
o teachings, proverbs, parables
o promises, prophecy, miracles,
o ‘firsts’, ‘how tos’, right ways of living, and
o too much to reckon!

From Genesis to Revelation, God-breathed Scripture telling of a Saviour and a story; a Way of life, like none other.

The Author revealed; Himself for our righteousness.

“Above all you must understand that no prophecy of Scripture came about by the prophet’s own interpretation. For prophecy never had its origin in the will of man, but men spoke from God as they were carried along by the Holy Spirit.” (2 Peter 1:20 & 21)

As we draw closer to the Christmas season, let’s truly breathe the Word in. Search for Old Testament prophecy of the coming Saviour. Read and re-read New Testament accounts of His birth and surrounding events. Look ahead to His second coming and truly experience the awe of this holiday season!

Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,

We pray Lord, God that this would not just be another Christmas. We pray that something would remain after all the hoopla and the date goes by. We seek You Lord. Prepare our hearts now, and reveal to us by Your Word the True wonderment of this season. Show us You; the Author, we ask and pray in Your Son Jesus’ name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

