{Faith} A Royal Mess

By Cindy Morrone

“In a large house there are articles not only of gold and silver, but also of wood and clay; some are for noble purposes and some for ignoble. If a man cleanses himself from the latter, he will be an instrument for noble purposes, made holy, useful to the Master and prepared to do any good work.” (2 Timothy 2: 20 & 21)

Sometimes when I offer my best intentions, my well-thought out plans, and my most humble servings, they are met with failure. As often there is an underlying selfish motive and a dependence on self. Whether it is to gain the praises of men; to satisfy an egocentric want; or to achieve a perceived standard; my best is wrought with my worst. I am a royal mess!

Pride gets in the way; a thinking that, “I have done this!”

“Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves. Each of you should look not only to your own interests, but also to the interest of others.” (Philippians 2:3 & 4)

Then I realize that my motives are misled and the dependence is on self and in my own strength and power, I won’t make the cut.

I remember that is it a privilege and honour to be used by God.

I then look up and call on my God; asking for forgiveness and somehow He takes what I have to offer and uses it for His purposes despite my mess offering.

I am washed in forgiveness; cleansed for His purposes (2 Timothy 2:21).

You see, He isn’t surprised about my selfish motives and attempts to do it on my own. He knows all about my mess.

“But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” (2 Corinthians 12: 9-10)

For I am a Royal mess!

“Yet to all who received him, to those who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God—children born not of natural descent, nor of human decisions or a husband’s will, but born of God.” (John 1:12 & 13)

And He has given me all I need to serve Him as He intends.

“For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.” (Ephesians 2: 10)

So, let’s vow to not let our messes stop us from serving our God and King but instead present to Him our cleansed offering and be noble instruments prepared to do our Master’s good work!

Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,

Help us Jesus to flee from evil desires and pursue righteousness, faith, love and peace (2 Timothy 2:22). We ask for forgiveness when our motives to serve are impure and we depend on ourselves to serve You. Lord, God we commit to You whatever we do, and we ask that You would use what we offer for Your divine purposes. Our heart’s desire, truly, Lord is to love You, walk in Your ways, obey Your commands, to hold fast to You and to serve You with all our heart and all our soul! (Joshua 22:5) Amen.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

