{New Years Special} “I don’t want you to wash it, Mommy!!!”

By: Mandy Hill

“Now the serpent was more crafty than any other beast of the field that the Lord God had made. He said to the woman, “Did God actually say, ‘You shall not eat of any tree in the garden’?” And the woman said to the serpent, “We may eat of the fruit of the trees in the garden, but God said, ‘You shall not eat of the fruit of the tree that is in the midst of the garden, neither shall you touch it, lest you die.’” But the serpent said to the woman, “You will not surely die. For God knows that when you eat of it your eyes will be opened, and you will be like God, knowing good and evil.” Genesis 3:1-24

I was cleaning up; collecting laundry to be specific, and picked up my sons favourite blanket to add to the wash. “Don’t take that, I don’t want you to wash it, Mommy!!”

I lifted the blanket to my face and inhaled. (What in the WORLD was I thinking??) I tried to remain calm as I spoke “Ben, Mommy NEEDS to wash your blanket. It’s very stinky and…”

image

He snatched it right out of my hands. “Noooooo….” He said. “It’s not stinky. (He brings the blanket to HIS face and breathes in a long dramatic whiff of his blanket). I like it to smell just like this. Please don’t wash it. You’ll ruin it.”

After much convincing…..(Ok! Who am I kidding…..?) I had to sneak it out of his room…..but as I was walking to the laundry room with my sons filthy blanket in hand, I was completely floored with a comparison.

We are just like this with our sin.

We wallow in our sin. No matter how filthy they make us, we are used to the smell of their filth and that doesn’t even bother us after a while. We don’t want to be washed, we are comfortable just they way things are….. Just like Eve did in the scripture above, we think we know what’s best for us.

Maybe sin seems more attractive…..well of course it does! Did you see how crafty the serpent was to Eve about the tree? Eve knew the right thing to do; God gave her very specific instructions, but she choose to be persuaded by the serpent. “Being like God” was more exciting to her.

“Come, let’s consider your options,” says the LORD. “Though your sins have stained you like the color red, you can become white like snow; though they are as easy to see as the color scarlet, you can become white like wool.” Isaiah 1:18

Sisters, is there a sin that you are tangled up in? A sin that you are wallowing in; comfortable in its filth? No sin is too big for God to wash away. He is waiting to reach down and make you clean; like new. Will you let him?

Jesus, thank You for dying on the cross that we might have life; and life to the full. Please help us to truly grasp the fullness of Your sacrifice so that we may make the right choices; choices that honour and glorify You. Jesus, I pray for my sisters who are resistant to Your washing…..those sisters who think it is just easier to continue making wrong choices….I pray that You will help them to see how much greater a choice You are; how much more fulfilling living a clean life with You can be. Jesus, I pray that you will open their hearts to receive Your cleansing; making them white as snow. Let us all endeavour to enter the year 2014, the new year, clean and free from the bondage of sin. I pray this in Your holy name, Jesus. Amen.

Leave a Reply

