{Marriage} He has a dream…..so what?

pics for blog 014

by Cindy Morrone

His countenance fell…his spirit drained of hope as I told him about our friend’s fortune to purchase a piece of property in one of his most favourite places on earth. I didn’t mean to discourage him. I actually meant to encourage him as the land was purchased at a reasonable price. But he saw reality, that for us right now, any price was out of reach. And as he considered the possibilities in his mind the prospect drifted away, along with a hope that his lifelong dream would ever be fulfilled.

My vain attempts to encourage were quickly disregarded, and so seeing a hurt, I started to seek our Lord. What could I do to help make this dream come true for my husband? What could I possibly do, to see my husband with bright orange and camouflage on, walk away from a humble cabin into the freezing cold to bring home a trophy? And then warmly greet him when he came back.

What could I possibly do? Remember, I am now a stay-at-home, homeschooling Mom, and let’s just say the pay is not monetary. Money is needed to purchase land—right?

What could I possibly do in the here and now?

God had some ideas and shared them with me as I prayed…..

Acknowledge and appreciate: For as long as I have known my husband, I have known he so desires to have a piece of land secluded from the concerns of the world, just like his ancestors. We talk about and share our dreams in cozy moments.

I also realize how important the sport of hunting is to him. In a previous post titled, “Do I support his passion?” he has shared with us all, why this sport is so valuable to him. While I do not share the same passion, I love my husband and want him to live life abundantly.

Speak Truth: I can look to the Word and speak Truth to him. As the Word filters in, hope is renewed.
I can remind him, that our Abba, Father loves us, knows the desires of our heart and we can trust Him to give what’s best for us.

“so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the saints, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.” (Ephesians 3:17-19)

“Delight yourself in the LORD and he will give you the desires of your heart.” (Psalm 37:4)

“This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us. And if we know that he hears us—whatever we ask—we know that we have what we asked of him.” (1 John 5:14 & 15)

Pray: I can go to the throne of grace for my husband and request his want on his behalf.

“Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” (1 Thessalonians 5:16-18)

Contribute: If it is the Lord’s will for my husband to have a piece of land to hunt on; he will have it. We will know the time and have the resources. Undoubtedly, I will be asked to consider a sacrifice. Perhaps give up a dream of my own for that time being. Will I be willing to do that? Is there any way to start contributing now? I will pray about that.

Dear sisters, do you know your husband’s dreams? His ambitions? What matters to him? What he desires in his heart? I love that we will be married for 20 years this October and I am still learning so much about him. I am guilty for getting so wrapped up in the everyday that these ‘faraway’ dreams; these things that are important to my husband are not even considered. I am so thankful the Lord has given me ways to support my husband in this way, in the here and now!

Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,

Thank you so much for the gift of marriage. Someone to share this life with; the everyday. Jesus, help us to be mindful of one another; to regard each other as important. To share our life dreams and goals together. Above all Lord may our dreams and goals all be within Your will for our lives. We do not want anything in our desires that is outside of Your will. Draw us nearer to You as a couple and help us to delight ourselves in You. We pray all these things in Your Son’s holy and precious Name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

