{Parenting} Back at it!!

blog paper pile
by Cindy Morrone

The worry, strife and toiling started the weekend before back to homeschooling from Christmas break. The doubts, fears and questions plagued my thoughts. Are we doing enough? Am I doing things in the right way? In a way that is best for our daughters’ learning? But what if…? I went over and over in my mind, the subjects, timelines and activities.

I once again grabbed God’s calling and tried in my own efforts to make it work.

Then….., I started to cry out and pray. I gave the calling back to God. It was never my own and never mine to take.

Forgive me Lord and continue to show me Your ways.

I rested in scripture,

“If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him. “ (James 1:5)

“His divine power has given us everything we need for life and godliness through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness.” (2 Peter 1:3)

And began to trust again.

Trust….

let God be your God….

in everything……in all things….. and watch the impossible become possible!

In my prayers, I was impressed to give the girls more opportunity to have input into their schooling. So on our first day back they were each given a few slips of paper to ‘dream’. They were asked to think about and suggest different things they wanted seen in their schooling. The suggestions were fun! Events, like pajama days, playing outside more and a trip to the mall were entered. These entries were definitely not this Mama’s ideas. I put in ‘read more’.

I realized that it wasn’t so much the ideas but the opportunity given to empower. This was their schooling experience and as they get older, the Lord was saying, “It’s about your relationship with them, more than anything else.” “They need to know that what they care about matters.”

The smiles on their faces and their excitement were proof enough that I had chosen to listen to God and not just my own ponderings.

Yes, the ABCs and 123s are essential, and we will aim to read more, but more importantly are the matters of their hearts. And as I continue to seek the Lord in every step of this high calling, I am certain, that worrying isn’t going to help!

“But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.” (Matthew 6:33)

Dear friends whether it’s schooling, sibling rivalry, or childcare, we can go to our God and He has all our parenting answers.

Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,

Thank You so much for the gift of parenting. Lord, God we never want to take this amazing opportunity for granted. We thank You for every day that we can share in the lives of our children. Our greatest heart’s desire for them is that they would love You with all of their heart, mind, soul and strength. Thank You Lord God for where You have them right here and right now. For You love them beyond comprehension and know what is best for them. Lord, we ask that You would help us parent them; help us to bring them up in Your ways. Help us to seek You in all things concerning their lives and to not invoke our own plans for them. We ask for the courage to lay down our own meddling and to seek Your will for them. Help us to deny ourselves and take up our cross and follow Jesus (Matthew 16: 24) in our parenting. We pray these things in Jesus’ name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

