{Parenting} My favourite scripture!

By: Mandy Hill

You are the one who put me together inside my mother’s body, and I praise you because of the wonderful way you created me. Everything you do is marvellous! Of this I have no doubt. (Psalms 139:13-14)

This is one of my favourite scriptures of all times! Why? Because it’s the most truth I need to hear and convince myself is true.

At some point over the course of my life I bought in to the lie that you need to be a beautiful, skinny, smart and an abundantly talented human being in order to be used by God. I started believing that lacking in anything meant I wasn’t good enough to serve Jesus. When I didn’t achieve the highest grades in my class, I struggled. When I put a little weight on, I struggled. When I got a pimple, for heavens sake, I struggled.

image

Now that I have children of my own, I believe full well that they have all been knit together in my womb by the God that never makes mistakes. They were created beautifully and wonderfully by Him; and my husband and I love them more than words could ever describe.

So if I believe this for my precious children, why do I have such a difficult job believing it myself?

Friends, if you struggle with believing the lie that you are not good enough, remember these four things:

1) Whatever you project about yourself, while in the presence of your children, will become learned behaviours.
Make sure that you are declaring life. (‘I am so ugly today’ or ‘I look so fat in these jeans’ do not qualify as life statements; instead, they’ll quickly bring your soul to deaths door.)

2) Being imperfect is ok. WE. ALL. ARE.
Why do us women all struggle with this so much?! If we don’t have perfect hair, a smooth and perfectly made up face and the perfect wardrobe……we weigh our salvation! That sounds so silly, and yet we all do it. Be ok, with being imperfect.

3) Put your energy into what really matters. Know your judge.
But God told Samuel, “Looks aren’t everything. Don’t be impressed with his looks and stature. I’ve already eliminated him. God judges persons differently than humans do. Men and women look at the face; God looks into the heart.” (1 Samuel 16:7)
Put less time and energy into trying to impress people with the way you look, and more time tuning your heart to God. After all, in the end, He’s the judge who will be judging us; and I for one, want to make sure I am judged well. 🙂

image

4) When you know that God likes you, you can start to really like yourself. – Joyce Meyer
When you start to like yourself, other people begin to like you too. Liking yourself doesn’t mean you’re full of pride; it simply means you accept yourself as the person God created you to be.

So, sisters, start today by acknowledging that you are both fearfully and wonderfully made. Don’t start trying to make excuses; you ARE fearfully and wonderfully made. Make every effort to acknowledge this in the presence of your children every time you go to say something that is not declaring truth and life.

Let’s raise confident conquerors for Jesus!!

Thank You, Jesus, that You are the giver of life and that You created all things fearfully and wonderfully. Jesus, I pray that You will cause a brighter light to shine on the matters of our heart than to that of our appearance. We live in a culture that demands perfection, but we want to impress You most…..please help us to navigate through that. I pray for my sisters who also need to swallow this truth. Please, be with them. I pray this in Your Holy name, Amen.

One comment

Leave a Reply

