{Faith} My ugly struggle; REVEALED!!

By: Mandy Hill

All things are legitimate [permissible–and we are free to do anything we please], but not all things are helpful (expedient, profitable, and wholesome). All things are legitimate, but not all things are constructive [to character] and edifying [to spiritual life]. (1 Corinthians 10:23 AMP)

image

Weight was never something I struggled with; necessarily. I was never ‘skinny’; however, I was certainly comfortable with who I was.

Shortly after I got married the scales started screaming climbing every time I stepped on to them. I quickly found myself in a place of discomfort in my very own body. My increase in weight was initiated by the onset of some medical issues, as I have discussed in “My Fertility Story“. However, I quickly bought into the idea that being overweight was my new identity; and I soon found myself spiralling down a slippery slope of guilt and shame when it came to making food choices.

I stopped eating to live; and began living to eat.

Now, that may sound extreme, but essentially it explains that shift that took place in my life. Something that never was an issue, suddenly became an issue. An issue that was all-consuming.

I would attempt to start a diet, crave something, give in, and then feel guilty and give up. I even saw a nutritionist once who I actually believe dug deeper wounds than I entered her office with. Nothing worked. As the numbers on the scales increased my confidence decreased.

I have recently come to the realization however, (through some fabulously wise advice from Lysa TerKeurst’s book ‘Made to Crave’) that while we are fully free to eat whatever want; not everything is helpful or beneficial. Likewise, temporary plans like diets are ok, but the real change will need to come from my heart.

image

Making wise food choices (eating to live) is difficult. Oh sisters, do I get that! I do believe, however, that it’s God’s best. Let this verse permeate your heart:

“Do you not know that your body is the temple (the very sanctuary) of the Holy Spirit Who lives within you, Whom you have received [as a Gift] from God? You are not your own, You were bought with a price [purchased with a preciousness and paid for, made His own]. So then, honor God and bring glory to Him in your body. (1 Corinthians 6:19-20)

Is ‘eating to live’ vs. ‘living to eat’ a struggle of yours?! Jesus says that we don’t have to remain tangled up in our chains….John 8:31-32 says: “If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples. Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”

Sisters, we were purchased by the darling of heaven Himself for something more than our struggle with food. Remaining bound in our struggles is keeping us from the fullness that God has for us. Let’s decide each time we are tempted to ‘live to eat‘ to replace those thoughts with a will to ‘eat to live’ instead. Let’s also give our struggles over to God; they are NOT too big for Him to handle. Don’t wait until tomorrow…..don’t even wait until your next meal…..let’s start now. This very moment….

Let’s honor God and bring glory to Him in our bodies.

Father God, Thank you for being The Lord of ALL! Jesus, I pray a prayer of surrender today. Please go before us and guide our decisions on what we choose to put into our bodies. Please give us the strength that we will need to make choices that will nourish our bodies instead of cause us shame and guilt. As we start this journey, I pray that you will increase determination and bless our efforts. The road ahead will be bumpy and long, but through you we can do anything! We believe this and hold tightly to the promise that you will never leave us! Thank you precious Lord! In Your name, Amen.

image

24 comments

  1. I have been struggling with my weight gain since menopause began. I was skinny since I was born. Never had to diet or exercise. I’ve found I am good with short term goals with exercise & eating healthier, then I get off track. I need to make good lifelong habits now. God spoke to me using the same scripture in 1 Corinthians. I was thinking about reading this same book Made To Crave, and would like to buy The Daniel Plan. I was preparing to start again with what I needed to do, when I had a tobogganing accident & now I have to be careful with exercise. I love to bake and am addicted to sugar, I know now that sugar is one cause of weight gain as well as other health issues. I’m tired of feeling disgusted with myself, & embarrassed. I have been gathering healthy recipes, and I’m taking one day at a time. I want to honor God with my body, not trash His temple. Being healthy allows us to serve God better, & be around for our loved ones.

    Like

    • I am in the Made to Crave bible study, don’t have a blog, and just looked through the blog pictures and chose yours randomly to read so I’d feel “in the loop”. thoroughly enjoying your blogposts! 🙂 have a great week. Jenny Wadford in Mississippi

      Like

      • Thank you so much Jenny!! 🙂 I am so enjoying the made to crave bible study. It is just what I need. Bless you, and I will be praying for you as you continue on this journey!

        Like

    • D, I so admire your transparency. I am certainly in prayer for you as you endeavour to honor God with your body! I highly recommend the book ‘Made to Crave!’ It is a great source, lots of great truths straight from the word of God.
      Bless you!

      Like

  2. Reblogged this on Meals, Deals, & 31 Thrills and commented:
    This hits home for me. As much as I enjoy cooking, I know I have to be better at portioning. I think the struggle lately has been feeling incredulous that I made a meal that tastes so good. (Remember how I started? Not even really knowing how to boil water? Cooking spaghetti, pizza, mac n cheese, bad steaks. Haha) After my first small helping I’ll go back for a second. Then whatever the kids don’t eat, if it’s not too destroyed, I’ll eat, because I don’t want to waste. That’s probably 3 servings by the end of the night.

    Please join me in her prayer to make food decisions that are profitable and healthy for our bodies, long-term!

    Like

  3. I have struggled with weight issues all of my life. I am determined that this time will be different. Reading your blog made an impression on the way I look at things. ‘Sisters, we were purchased by the darling of heaven Himself for something more than our struggle with food.’ is a statement that sears in my heart. I am going to repeat this throughout my struggle. Thank you for your words.

    Like

  4. I never had any issues with weight or food (so I thought) until I had children. I was a skinny girl. The only difference is that my metabolism changed, and my eating habits didn’t. Now I’ve fallen into the “do better/fail/give up/guilt” cycle so often it’s my routine. Thankful for the wisdom of this book, and hopeful that my cravings will no longer be misplaced. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • Thanks for your response, BJ. It’s such a brutal cycle….but the enemy wants us to feel defeated and he wants us to give up. We need to remember who’s side we are on and that He has already won the battle. We are a.ready victorious, sister!
      Bless you!

      Like

  5. “I stopped eating to live; and began living to eat” Loved that. I too shot up a few years after marriage and then again after children. Thanks for sharing today. Loved reading and tempted by that doughnut picture. Apples don’t tempt me but I did put one in a breakfast drink this morning. I will be back when I get time to read your fertility story. I have some people I love with fertility issues and also gene issues. THANKS again! Debbie W. (OBS Facebook Team Leader/Group Leader and Blog Hop Team)

    Like

  6. This statement really hit me hard. “Sisters, we were purchased by the darling of heaven Himself for something more than our struggle with food.” Wow. Yes we were. Going to go post the verse on my fridge, so I can see it and remember.

    Like

  7. I like your words of encouragement. It is a challenge and I know for me I had to admit that I was an addict when it came to food. And the thought of food just being sustenance is daunting but not impossible. I am going to be willing to be used by God to one day help others and to allow Him to perfect the things that concern me…because He will. 🙂

    Like

  8. Hi. My nane is Elaina and a i am in the “Made to Crave” bible study. I just wanted you to know that I enjoyed your blog. It is real and gave me inspiration. I don’t worry about being over weight at the moment, but have been there. I chose weight watchers way back when and have been a lifetime member for many years. I do however have issues with “eating to live” but never put it in those terms. I have had some major health issues for a few years and food is an issue. I do love how the made to crave bible study brings God right to the heart of it. I want to be able to crave God, and to honor Him with my body.

    Like

  9. I randomly picked your blog…liked your picture and your haircut! LOL~ anyway these words really ring true with me “Sisters, we were purchased by the darling of heaven Himself for something more than our struggle with food.” I love this so much! I needed to hear this today! Especially since I almost ate a whole bag of powdered donuts out of boredom and stress! Instead I should have PRAYED and got in the word! Thank you so much for your words!

    Like

    • Thank you Tonya for your words of encouragement to me! I will certainly be praying for you; that your stress will be lifted and that you will learn to manage your stress with God rather than food 🙂 Bless you, sister!

      Like

Leave a Reply

