{Parenting} Can I call you back in 5 years???

By: Mandy Hill

“Be still, and know that I am God.” (Psalm 46:10a)

Have you ever noticed that when the phone rings at your house E-V-E-R-Y-O-N-E has a question, a request and needs your immediate attention? Some days you live for that phone to ring…..a voice from the outside; a voice of sanity; something other than utter chaos. An adult voice that sounds of maturity and speaks truth in the form of outside perspective.

Just when you hear that phone ring, you run for the receiver knowing you can’t get to that voice on the other end quick enough……and your house suddenly turns into a complete and absolute three-ringed circus.

image

My three rings are now ages 5, 4 and 1. On any normal day my house is anything but quiet. Trust me, sisters, it is always loud at my house! (Most days, I love every moment of the chaos!) But there are some days I truly just need a couple moments to sit down and be still; share a few stories with a good friend; laugh out loud, and maybe even cry a little to shed off self-pity and my perceived defeat.

I have been thinking about this very thing and wonder if we sometimes treat God the same when He calls… When our lives are busy and loud, He calls, and suddenly we have every excuse to get louder and more busy! I was challenged today by a wise friend to just rest and enjoy the quiet moments; to be still and really listen for God’s voice.

Life with kids can sometimes appear impossible to find a quiet enough time to really listen for the voice of God. (I so get that!!!) I do believe, however, that it is such an important thing to pursue. Hearing the voice of God, truly listening for His call is an incredible privilege that we have as His daughters.

I love how this verse ends with a promise. “Be still, and know that I am God.” If you take time to be still, He will reveal Himself to you. Please don’t deny yourself this incredible privilege, sister.

Be still, and KNOW!

Father God, thank you so much for my kids. I love that my house is so full of life. Please keep me mindful of the blessings that they are and equip me with patience and encouragement as I endeavour to pour love into them from the overflow of the love I have received from you. We so need You and your daily presence in our lives and desire to seek that as a more natural part of our lives. Please guide us as we try and decide what time best works for us to truly sit and be still in Your presence. I pray this in Your precious and holy name, Jesus, amen.

2 comments

  1. What an inspiring post!! It can be so hard to “be still” sometimes with all that needs to be done. This is such a great reminder to just find that quiet space – even if it’s in your closet – to sit still and listen for God. Thank you! God bless you and your family!

    Like

Leave a Reply

