{Parenting} A beautiful Mommy moment!

By: Mandy Hill

My son Benjamin was home sick from school today; feverish and heavy on the side of sensitivity. His younger sister Sophia was also home today- recouping from a few days of fever herself. We were sitting at the kitchen table, eating our lunch when an all-too-familiar sibling banter began.

image

Short-lived, the argument ended with my daughter telling my son that he was ‘rude.’ Not feeling well, this discouragement sent him into a quick state of sadness. He came to me with those big green eyes and cried his little heart out to me. “Mommy, Sophia said I was rude.”

It was thankfully one of those divine moments where God completely took over the words that came out of my mouth. “Ben” I said, “do you really feel like you were being rude to your sister?”

“No!” He sobbed.

“Then don’t let her tell you that you are! No one can tell you who you are but Jesus, buddy.”

He hugged me tight and quietly settled down a bit. He then asked me “Do you know what Jesus says I am?!”

“Yes….” I answered. “He says you are the apple of His eye (Psalm 17); he says that you are His special treasure (Deuteronomy 7:6); and He says that you are wonderfully made!! (Psalm 139:14)

image

How many of us do this, in our adult lives?! We take something discouraging that someone has said to us, and we pull it over our soul as our new identity. Those discouraging words are so very far from the truth. Gods truth says that we are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood. It’s so important for us to bathe ourselves in the truth that comes from the word of God, so that when discouragement tries to knock us down we are prepared to look it in the face and replace it with His truth.

What lies are you believing, sister?!

Father God, thank You so much for my beautiful children. Thank You for their tender hearts and their interest in You. Please guide us, and flood our hearts with wisdom when it comes to moments that we can truly point them to You. For us adults who struggle with taking on discouragement….I pray that You will break that trend, in the name of Jesus, and instead point us in the direction of Your truth. I pray this in Your holy and precious name, Jesus, Amen!

6 comments

  1. I am so proud of you that you rely on The Lord to bring your children up – God is always faithful!! A lot of your posts you write stir up so many priceless memories from when you were a little girl – THANK YOU!!! I love you so much!!! xoxoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

