{Parenting} By my example…

snow angel blog 001

By Cindy Morrone

“These commandments that I give you today are to be upon your hearts. Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.” (Deuteronomy 6:6-7)

One sits on one side of me and the other sits on the other side. I noticed in church last week that their shoulder height was just short of my own. When did that happen? Lately, many have said to me, “What young ladies they are becoming!” “My, they have grown!” “They are going to be taller than you.” It’s true, they have grown in stature.

As we sat side by side, the memories of their growing flooded in. It wasn’t long ago that they were carried in car seats; one by the left hand and the other by the right. Then they toddled off on their own two feet and I held tight to their hands, lest they run away. They were dropped off in the nursery and without each other, I am certain they would have continued to cling to my legs. Now they walk around and away in our sanctuary, all on their own, still waving as they look back.

I consider it such a privilege that my babes have been brought up in the church. There is rarely a Sunday that we have missed. They are familiar with praise and worship, Bible teachings and prayer over its members. It is normal for them to attend; an expectation of meeting with the body of Christ.

Very often they share with me what their Pastors and their families and leaders have taught them. Some of their church family gives them candy, some joke around with them, and all show love to us. In difficult times they have seen their church family pray over us, anonymously provide and sit with us to share in the trouble. They have come to expect the body of Christ to be there for them and our family.

If I have done one thing well for my precious daughters, it is that I have introduced them to the body of Christ and given them the opportunity to have relationship with other believers. Alongside their family, they will also know they have a church family and for this I am so thankful.

Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,
Thank you for the gift of children. Help us to not take the responsibility of raising them lightly. Impress upon our hearts a hunger to seek after You and to set an example for our children. Help us to be disciplined and committed to the body of believers and have relationships within our church that go beyond niceties. We pray all these things in Your Son’s holy and precious name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

