{Faith} A Love ‘Ah-ha’ Moment

by Cindy Morrone

In our Bible time, we are reading a book written by Joyce Meyer titled, “Battlefield of the mind for kids.” In part of her book, Joyce talks about putting on the mind of Christ and right then and there, as I was reading to my precious ones, an ‘ah-ha’ moment happened without warning!

Joyce outlines how changing our mind or putting on the mind of Christ, involves changing our heart. And she expounded on a very familiar scripture found in Matthew 22:37, ““Jesus replied, “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.” She went on to outline a difference between the heart, soul and mind. And this is where the ‘ah-ha’ comes in!

Joyce defined the heart as our emotional center; the thing that ‘feels’. The soul was identified as the very essence of us and it will live forever. Our soul is where the Spirit of God lives. And our mind was differentiated as our God given tool which allows us to think and react. Per this author, the mind is the part that is continually being renewed. It was this part; the part about the mind that really caught my attention.

Yes, I ‘feel’ like I love my God and can express my emotions freely to Him. I tell Him time and time again how much I love Him. Yes, I love Him with all my soul. I have confessed with my mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in my heart that God raised Jesus from the dead (Romans 10:9) and from that moment on, having believed I was marked with a seal, the promised Holy Spirit (Ephesians 1:13).

But how am I doing with loving Him with my entire mind? With all my thoughts?

“AH-HA”!!!

Sure I have good thoughts most times, but let me be honest, not all my thoughts are taken captive and made obedient to Christ. (2 Corinthians 10:5).

I fear, dread, doubt and worry.

These inclinations are not from the Lord and are against His best for me.

2 Timothy 1:7, “For God did not give us a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power, of love and of self-discipline.”

Philippians 4:6 says, “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.”

The idea that I can show my love for my God by fixing my thoughts; all my thoughts on Him is a divinely gained insight and such a blessing to me! That in itself is all the motivation I need, ‘cause I want to love the Lord with my all, all my heart, all my soul and all my mind!

Dear Heavenly Gracious Father,
Thank You for Your Word; Your Word is ”….God- breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness.” (2 Timothy 3:16) I am so excited Lord to have this truth highlighted for me, that I can show my love for You with all my mind. Forgive me Lord, that I haven’t been doing that, always. I somehow gave myself permission to think ‘whatever’ and allowed the thoughts to fester instead of relinquishing them; taking them captive and making them obedient to You. I so love You my God and I give my heart, soul, mind and life to You and Your will! Amen.

Leave a Reply

