{Marriage} My Valentine.

By: Mandy Hill

“Love must be sincere. Hate what is evil; cling to what is good.” Romans 12:9

Valentines day. A day that brings back so many memories for me; a whole decade of memories in fact…

Memories that range from my very first Valentine’s day with my handsome boyfriend, Nathan, where he sent me a dozen long stemmed red roses as a surprise to my work. Or— our first Valentine’s day as an engaged couple….and after a fight fuelled by my own selfishness, the evening ended in a broken engagement. Or— the Valentine’s day that we brought our tiny preemie daughter home from the hospital after spending two months with her in the NICU….and spent hours watching the opening ceremonies of the Vancouver Olympics as a new family of four. OR— beginning our new tradition of ordering Chinese food ‘in’ and enjoying a night of snuggling in front of the tv watching a movie together.

image

So many memories, but one thing remains….that our love for each other is absolutely sincere. Has our life together always been perfect, certainly not. Have our circumstances always been laced with romance and kind words; another no. However, Nathan and I love each other deeply and sincerely, and that sisters, is what God asks of us!

”Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. For we know in part and we prophesy in part, but when completeness comes, what is in part disappears. When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me. For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known. And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.” 1 Corinthians 13:4-15

So friends, it’s not about what you do to celebrate your love for each other one night out of the year….it’s about loving your spouse sincerely, patiently, kindly, unselfishly, and truthfully every single day of the year.

Even when it’s not easy…..because love never fails.

Thank You Heavenly Father for Your example of the sincerest kind of love. A love that exemplifies sacrifice, patience, and unselfishness to name a few. I pray, God, for strength to love like You do, in all situations, through all circumstances. I pray for my sisters who are struggling to love their spouses in this way; please fill their hearts with hope and possibility. Thank You that Your love never fails. In Jesus name, amen.

Leave a Reply

