Super Sister and Away!!!

By Cindy Morrone

The tip of my toe touched our carpeted bedroom floor; it was my first day ‘back’ after a few days of being sick. I still wasn’t feeling a 100%, but it was meant to be a lighter day, so I decided to get my day started. My husband on his day off was still sleeping. I left him sleeping and as I contemplated on how to bring in extra income, I picked up our bed, set it on my back with him still in it and walked out of our bedroom. As I passed by my girlies’ rooms, they too were still sleeping. As I started to think on their day, I picked them up each in their own beds stacking them on top of our bed and gingerly climbed down our stairs.

Downstairs, my eyes ran to and fro throughout our home as I carried. I spotted all the mess left from a few days of a Mama being out of commission and I started to pile the dust, dirt, clutter on top of the beds, careful not to wake anyone. I proceeded into the kitchen and noticed the dirty dishes on the counter and remnants of our Valentine’s celebration and threw them to the top of the pile. I put a load of laundry in the dryer and one in the washer, so thankful for machines to help me with my chore.

I walked passed our school room and started to think on my girlies’ schooling. I contemplated, what they had missed while I was sick and what needed to be caught up on and so with one hand balancing the weight of it all, the other hand placed, their school room and all that is in it, on the very top of my mound.

Finally, making it to my most favourite room of the house; my sanctuary where I meet Jesus, I exhaustingly sat down. I attempted to reach for my Bible but wasn’t able, as my hands, my body, and my mind were all too burdened by the heavy load.

Phew!

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” (Matthew 11:28-30)

The next morning, I woke up and before opening my eyes, I called on my Jesus. When I opened my eyes He was waiting there at the side of our bed and gently picked me up and carried me down our stairs into my most favourite room of the house and spent time with me. He helped me to plan, organize, and set priorities in the most efficient and doable way, with the highest of values. But not before He told me how much He loved me and how precious I am to Him. He absolutely and completely provided for our family that day and everything that was needed that day was taken care of. This is my Jesus!

Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,

Lord, God help us to remember that You have us; no one or nothing else. That we don’t have to be super women putting ‘all’ on our shoulders and carrying around the weight of our worlds. This was never Your intended purpose for us. You, beckon us to come to you; to call out to You and You promise rest; a rest for our souls. Help us to take your yoke and learn from You, allowing the Holy Spirit to work in us and work wonders in our worlds! In Your name we pray. Amen.

Leave a Reply

