{Marriage} A noble wife.

By: Mandy Hill

A wife of noble character is her husband’s crown, but a disgraceful wife is like decay in his bones. (Proverbs 12:4)

I love my husband. Often I have read the above scripture and wondered what it truly means to be a wife of noble character. Since my initial questioning, so much life has ensued and with the life experiences we have shared together as a couple, the Lord has given me a better perspective.

1) An excellent wife who can find? She is far more precious than jewels. The heart of her husband trusts in her, and he will have no lack of gain. She does him good, and not harm, all the days of her life. (Proverbs 31:10)

Trust.

My guess is you’ve won your husbands trust long before you shared your marriage vows. Trust is the firm foundation of a relationship: without trust, your just like a house built on sand. However, once trust is achieved it must never be taken for granted. You must always work to maintain this trust. When your husband comes home from a long day at work, be the first person he wants to share with; be that safe haven.

2) However, let each one of you love his wife as himself, and let the wife see that she respects her husband. (Ephesians 5:33)

Respect.

I had NO idea what an important thing respect is for a man. It truly is a HUGE deal. When my husband feels respected by me, he is on top of the world. Ladies, let us learn what it truly means to show our husbands respect; and then let us live it out.

image

3) If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. And if I have prophetic powers, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give away all I have, and if I deliver up my body to be burned, but have not love, I gain nothing. Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful…(1 Corinthians 13:1-13)

Love.

Seems easy enough right?! What about when he ticks you off? Or doesn’t meet your expectations? Or what if he causes you disappointment or hurt? Do you love your husband through those times? Take it from the girl with the extremely strong will and stubborn streak…..it’s not easy sometimes. However, if you choose to love your husband through difficulty, your love is sure to grow. Love your husband.

So, what makes a wife of noble character? A wife that loves, respects and is trustworthy to name a few. How are you doing with being a noble wife??

Heavenly Father, you have so blessed me with a lasting love in my husband. Thank You for this blessing, I can’t thank You enough! I pray that You will continue to mould me and shape me into a wife of noble character through every circumstance that comes our way. Jesus, for my sisters who desire the same, I pray that You will speak to their hearts as well. Guide them, lead them as they endeavour to keep You in the center of their marriages. We love You, Jesus. We bless Your holy name. Amen.

One comment

  1. Again another beautifully written entry – and one that comes from a true wife of noble character!! You are!! I love you with all my heart!! xoxoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

