{Parenting} When kisses no longer take the boo-boos away…

stroller blog

by Cindy Morrone

I remember when they would parade up and down the sidewalk pushing their baby strollers; when they could fit in a double stroller and when their Mr. Potato heads looked more like Picasso art! When washable markers were used on more than paper, and diapers were commonly found worn on the other end! And when a kiss would instantly take away the hurt and stop the crying.

They would run to me with big tears in those beautiful green eyes and I would hear their heart, wrenching sobs and see the pain, both physical and emotional. They would lift up the wounded area and I would gently plant a kiss. Instantly the pain, fear, and hurting would disappear. It was unexplainable. Once the kiss was bestowed all would be settled and quiet, even though the abrasion still existed.

Since then, things have changed; they have changed and we have changed. To offer a kiss now is not ‘good enough’; it no longer takes away all the pain, fear and hurting.

They need something more (small Mama tear)……….

The hurts are different now. They are hurts of insecurity and doubt about value. A noticing of how they are viewed by others. A kiss in itself rarely takes away all the hurt.

They need more of someOne…..

Along with a kiss, I need to really listen; I mean really listen, even when it’s inconvenient. I need to look into those beautiful, green eyes and hear their hearts. I need to give them opportunity to share and uplift their wounds not only to me, but also to their Maker. And seal the moment with the Truth.

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33)

I so look forward to growing in Christ with my girlies. To point them to the infallible One!

Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,
Thank You Lord for the gift of parenting. Jesus, I realize that I am no more than a “..mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes.” (James 4:14) I want to give them my all; all that I can. And I believe the most important thing to offer them is an understanding, a knowledge, and an opportunity to have an intimate relationship with You. Show us how Lord in every stage of their growing; how best to do that. Let our own lives be a living example of Your way. In Jesus’ name we pray. Amen.

Leave a Reply

