{Faith} Dead Silence

blog bud

Offered by Cindy Morrone

“Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time.” (1 Peter 5:6)

There have been some significant times in my faith journey where I have felt very alone. When it seems that no one is able to understand or relate to what I am going through, not even those closest to me. Even with their most compassionate efforts, there remains an empty void. Those times are difficult, but I believe necessary, so I can return to my highest loyalty… that is my Abba, Father. These are seasons of check for me making sure my Lord has Lordship over me and my life.

Then there are other times, so much more difficult when I have felt that my Lord is silent. When I know that He has not left me (Hebrews 13:5) and has heard my prayers (Psalm 116:1 & 2) but He is delaying the answer. There have been some very long, seasons in my life fraught with silence. Experiencing infertility was one such time, and our recent period of losses, another. I didn’t stop crying out to the Lord, I didn’t stop praying and I didn’t stop asking for others to pray for me. I didn’t stop believing, but the wait was so difficult. The situations were not changing and the circumstances remained the same for seemingly a very, long time.

Silence…,waiting….,delay….

Having gone through these times, I am more certain now that the Lord although silent for a time never stopped responding.

Like the rainbow is a sign of an everlasting covenant between God and all life on earth (Genesis 9), I see the early buds on trees a sign of God’s constant care. Have a look. Even in snow covered grounds, below freezing temperatures and iced rivers, buds begin to appear. I thought the trees were in a dead sleep, dormant all winter with nothing happening; silenced by the loss of their leaves. But all the while something was occurring and in due time new life can be seen.

Although some seasons for us can look and feel that same way; dead, dormant and silenced; the truth is that God never stops responding to our prayers and petitions and in His due time newness will be given.

Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,
Lord, God, thank You for seasons when we can’t depend on our circumstances or anything or anyone other than You! Because it is truly in these times, Lord where our Lordship is established and when we build our foundation on a rock! When we will be delivered from the pit in due time by Your mighty hand (1 Peter 5:6) And praise will be on our lips, “I love you, O LORD, my strength. The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my deliver; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge. He is my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. “(Psalm 18:1 & 2)

Leave a Reply

