{Faith} I choose joy!

By: Mandy Hill

image

Always be joyful. (1 Thessalonians 5:16)

I am once again an active part of the Proverbs 31 online bible study community. I love this community; I have grown so much in my faith since deciding to become a part of their online bible study program. Our discussion this week has sparked some “action” on my part and I’d like to invite you to join with me on this unique new journey.

Sometimes life can be difficult and it seems as though we are justified to become downtrodden, angry or upset….yet the bible specifically says that we must always be joyful.

al·ways. ˈôlˌwāz,-wēz/
adverb
Def: at all times; on all occasions.

At all times. On all occasions.

That means that even when we don’t feel like being joyful; we need to be! When something doesn’t go our way; we need to be joyful. When times are tough; we need to be joyful. When our kids are giving us a hard time; we need to be joyful. When our husbands are grumpy; we need to be joyful. When we feel grumpy; we must still choose joy.

How do we find joy even in the dark times? Well, what if we broke down the day into three sections:

1. Morning
2. Afternoon
3. Evening

After each section of our day is complete; write down ten reasons that gave you a reason to be joyful. I believe that by consciously choosing joy throughout the day we will, over time, begin to build a habit of choosing joy naturally.

Here is a shortened version of my list from yesterday:

1. Morning/Afternoon/Evening
* time spent in the word and in His presence
* waking up to a clean kitchen sink
* hearing my children laugh
* delicious coffee in my favourite mug
* an encouraging email
* teachable moments
* an afternoon nap!
* helping my hubby when he was sick
* finishing a TV series with my hubby
* tiny voices saying “I love you too!”

Dear gracious Heavenly Father! Thank You for the many reasons you give us to be joyful. Thank You that even through storms and darkness, the abundance of joy You offer prevails! I pray for my sisters who struggle with being joyful always; please, Jesus, show them joy in both the big and the small things. Let this exercise of documenting a few reasons we found joy, be the start to the habitual natural choosing of joy! We bless You, Jesus! In your name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

