{Parenting} A mixed plate of emotions!

By: Mandy Hill

Be thankful in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you who belong to Christ Jesus. (1 Thessalonians 5:18)

Parenting is one of those privileges that offers a mixed plate of emotions.

I was thinking about this recently as I watched the excitement on my nearly two year old son’s face as he smeared his teeny little adorable handprint…..all over my freshly Windex’d window. How quickly we loose sight of the plethora of reasons we have to give thanks, when something doesn’t go as perfectly as we’d hoped!!

image

“Nooooo!” I said as I watched my efforts fade away into a smudged mess. As quickly as I said it, he turned and walked toward me offering me a tender hug of apology. Afterward he quickly returned to his fresh canvas and continued to make the window ‘his own‘.

As I watched Spencer completely discount the work I put into making my window sparkle….I couldn’t help but sit back and thank God for his precious life and that award-winning smile! As I spectated, I realized just how proud he was of this ‘mess’ he was making! He was bursting with pride as he’d look from the window to me, summoning my approval! I walked over and sat beside him and played along, filling his little heart to the brim. “Momm-ee” he’d say, and point; beaming with excitement at his masterpiece.

Sisters, when those fingerprints start to fade away, I don’t want to look back and regret wasting so much time trying to wash them away! I want to embrace each moment, each smudge, each smile and tuck each one into my heart.

My daughter brought home a Christmas ornament from school with this beautiful poem tucked inside:

Sometimes you get discouraged
Because I am so small,
And always leave my fingerprints
On furniture and walls.
But everyday I am growing,
-I’ll be grown up someday,
And all these tiny handprints
Will simply fade away.
So here’s a little handprint
Just so you can recall,
Exactly how my fingers looked
When I was very small.

Yes, parenting is a mixed plate of emotions! Some days that plate is piled high 🙂 But, even on the hardest of days, I want to be found thanking and praising my God, for every single moment.

Thank You, Jesus, for the the precious lives that You have entrusted to our care. Thank You for every smile, every finger smudge, every tender hug. I pray that we will always give thanks; in all our circumstances. I am so overwhelmed by Your love and the many blessings You have given to me; thanks doesn’t even begin to cut it! I love you so much, Jesus, amen!

Leave a Reply

