{Marriage} A Plea for our Husbands

By: Cindy Morrone

This letter to my husband comes out of my continued growth in our marriage relationship. It highlights some of the piercing truths that God has shown me about myself and my marriage. Please feel free to read it to yours.

My dear husband,

I pray that you know how important our marriage is to me. Besides my relationship with our Lord, it is the most important. I am committed to not just having a good marriage but a God enveloped, holy union! God has taught me so much through our years of marriage. So much about myself and much about what true love is. Thank you for choosing me; for choosing us.

It may not be said often enough but I desire you to love on me. And in your love for me to protect me, to encourage me, to help me, to hold me, to keep me, to provide for me….

“Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her to make her holy, cleansing her by the washing with water through the word, and to present her to himself as a radiant church, without stain or wrinkle or any other blemish, but holy and blameless.” (Ephesians 5:25-27)

The understanding of this yearning has become so much clearer as we grow together.

I am sorry for the times I have looked to you to be my everything; to fill a place that wasn’t yours to fill. That was a misplaced burden. The Lord has shown me that He is my All in all. That apart from Him I can do nothing (John 15:5). I am also sorry for trying so many times to go it alone; when I haven’t shared my struggles with you. I understand I have missed opportunity to receive blessing.

So in my often times of struggle, I am no longer asking you to ‘fix’ things, but thank you so much for trying. That is not what I need you to do or who you are to be. What I am hoping is for us to truly come alongside one another as directed in the Word. To be His hands and feet in our holy union.

It so helps when you listen to me and hear me. I am so thankful I can share with you and trust you with my good, bad and ugly. That you keep no record of right or wrong (1 Corinthians 13:5).

And my burdens are so lifted when you speak His Truth to me. Precepts ordained to draw me back and closer to our Abba, Father. I would like to also, thank you for being courageous enough to speak the truth in love ((Ephesians 4:15) in those times when I am not trusting or my faith is wavering.

Praying together is one of my most precious gifts from you. This is when as a couple we can thank Him for so many things. We can be thankful for our marriage, His wisdom and truth. We can ask for His peace that surpasses all our understanding. And like He has done every other time, He will show us the Way: His Way.

Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,
All blessing, glory and honour to You, our Abba, Father. Thank You for the gift of marriage. You are our All in all. Help us to love on one another as You do; to be Your hands and feet. Help us to look to Your Word for the wisdom and knowledge to become stronger in our marriages. We thank You Lord, for the working of the Holy Spirit in our marriages and seek further trust and faith. We pray all these things in Your Son’s holy and precious Name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

