{Parenting} …..’She laughs without fear of the future!’

By: Mandy Hill

She is clothed with strength and dignity, and she laughs without fear of the future. (Proverbs 31:25)

This winter has been the worst season we have ever endured for sickness.

image

On the outskirts of this wintery season our daughter, Sophia, was admitted to a hospital two hours away for reconstructive surgery on her kidneys. It was there, in that hospital, that we passed around our first cold. It originated in our daughter, the least of us with any strength to fight it off. Thus, the beginning of our winter blues.

We have all had cold’s and flu’s at least twice each since November. It seems as though we just get a little bit better and then we start getting sick again! Has this been true for your family as well?

I hate to see my little ones sick; it absolutely breaks my heart. I would much rather suffer for them in their place.

This morning I woke up with a sore throat. My initial thought was….here we go again!! A minor amount of panic set in as I began to think of all the ways we likely passed on these ‘new germs’, and I was mentally brewing a plan for when these germs would manifest in my young family; and how best to cope in the coming days.

It was during these moments of mental attack that The Lord dropped this verse into my mind:
She is clothed with strength and dignity, and she laughs without fear of the future. (Proverbs 31:25)

At first I thought to myself….how am I supposed to laugh without fear of the future?!

But, as the verse repeated over in my mind I was drawn to the first portion of this verse: “She is clothed with strength…..”

image

And where does my strength come from…..?! Isaiah 40:29 says: “He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak.” My strength comes from HIM! I was instantly enveloped in comfort as I embraced this truth. Yes, my strength comes from Him, and because of this truth, I can laugh without fear of the future.

Thank You, Jesus!

God, You are amazingly timely! Thank You for Your wisdom and truth during some moments of weakness and worry. Thank You for Your grace and mercy in this life. Thank You for Your faithfulness. We give You glory and we honour You! Please keep us keenly aware that our strength only comes from You; that we are absolutely weak and powerless on our own. We praise You for all Your provisions thus far, and thank You in advance for the provisions You have yet to reveal to us. We pray this in Your holy name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

