{Faith} Let it go…..Let it go….

all of our pictures 2314

By: Cindy Morrone

“Let it go! Let it go!”

I’ve heard this line sung quite often lately by some beautiful little girlies. It’s a line in a song of the popular Disney movie, ‘Frozen’. They dance and twirl while they sing, uninhibited. They don’t seem to mind who is watching as they belt it out!

We walk down the church isle all in our Sunday best. And sit in our self-assigned pew, amoung our church family. We’ve chosen our clothes the night before and have on our best modest attire. Our hair is brushed and there are shoes on our feet. Our smile is on, no matter the morning we have had.

When it is time to stand for worship, we enter into His holy presence and follow along as we are lead into songs of praise and adoration to our holy, God. It is in these moments, with our sole focus on Him, that we are more attentive to His responses, promptings and leadings.

“So Moses thought, “I will go over and see this strange sight—why the bush does not burn up.”
When the LORD saw that he had gone over to look, God called to him from within the bush, “Moses! Moses!” And Moses said, “Here I am.”
“Do not come any closer,” God said. “Take off your sandals, for the place where you are standing is holy ground.” (Exodus 3: 3- 5)

It seems though, that almost every time I stand, a battle ensues. How many times have I stood to worship and have instead paid attention to all else? My mind could be divided into so many directions from my girlies’ behavior, to my week ahead, to what the people around me are doing, to whether or not my singing off key is distracting….oh, so many disturbances.

Then there are the nudges, which is the strongest of all that cause me to wonder what others are thinking about me. I hope I didn’t wear this outfit last week! Am I singing too loud? Am I lifting my hands at the appropriate times? Oh, no I’m crying?!

I hold back, limiting the presence of the Lord.

But, He sees through my all—even the unseen—the pretty smile, the modest clothes, what I acted like just before I entered the sanctuary, the reservation and all the distractions.

Then there is an encouraging Word, a persistence to press on because so much would be otherwise missed.

“Yet a time is coming and has now come when the true worshippers will worship the Father in spirit and truth, for they are the kind of worshippers the Father seeks. God is spirit, and his worshippers must worship in spirit and in truth.” (John 4: 23 & 24)

And it’s when I lay down all the distractions, hindrances, interruptions, and nudges before the feet of my heavenly Father in genuine and true worship; when I take off my sandals, that God’s holy presence is known. And in floods of marvelous wonders that make me want to kneel, dance and exclaim in joy, all at once!

So, let’s enter into His gates with thanksgiving and his courts with praise; giving thanks to Him and praising His name (Psalm 100:4). We can come into His presence anywhere; at church, in our homes, or cars and any time. We can worship alone or with others. Like Moses did let’s be drawn to the burning bush, and answer “here I am Lord” and take off our sandals!

Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,
Oh, there is nothing that compares to being in Your presence Lord. Let it not be a certain time or place, but a way of being. We want to see burning bushes Lord! We say, “here I am!” Show us Your glory, Lord in the everyday! Help us rid of any hindrances, distractions or other that gets in the way of communion with You. We pray all this in Your Son’s holy and precious name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

