{Parenting} Curses or Blessings?!

By: Mandy Hill

This is scary: You can tame a tiger, but you can’t tame a tongue—it’s never been done. The tongue runs wild, a wanton killer. With our tongues we bless God our Father; with the same tongues we curse the very men and women he made in his image. Curses and blessings out of the same mouth! (James 3:7-10)

I recently wrote about the power in our words.

It is true, isn’t it sisters? Our words carry a lot of weight. They truly have the power to completely change someone’s day for the better; for the good. Likewise, they also have the power to completely derail someone’s day; bringing pain and/or hurt.

I was thinking about this a few weeks ago as my husband and I were preparing to announce the news of our newest pregnancy. As I expected, a few asked questions or made comments such as:

image

“Are you crazy?!”

“Wow. You are going to be so busy.”

“FOUR KIDS! Was this planned?!”

I found myself on the defence as I would hold my breath and brace for the reaction. I almost wanted to start by saying:

“We are not crazy, we are already busy, a good busy; and whether we planned it or not is of no consequence. We are expecting another baby!”

The Lord quietly spoke to my heart one morning after we had posted our news on Facebook. What others say about this blessing can not steal away our joy; unless we allow them to.
“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law. And those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires. If we live by the Spirit, let us also keep in step with the Spirit.” (Galatians 5:22-25)

I suppose in those moments I realized how unproductive my resistance towards those with hearty opinions about my pregnancy truly was. Granted, although I still wished everyone had nice things to say (or nothing to say at all), I heeded the fact that a tongue can not be tamed.

If I want to see a change however, I can commit to making every effort to bless others with my tongue whenever I receive an opportunity to do so.

Will you choose to do the same?

Father God, thank You for Your countless blessings and miracles. In particular thank You for the miracle of new life growing within my womb. I pray that You will bless every moment of this pregnancy and use it as a testimony to Your faithfulness and beautiful healing power. Thank You for allowing us to be a part of such a joy-filled time; please also keep us mindful that our joy comes from You and You alone. I ask that You will grow our confidence and security in the fact that You are our source. Thank You, Jesus. Amen.

One comment

  1. Children are such blessings. We currently have 3 and I cannot rid myself of the desire to have another. I have prayerfully scrutinized my motives to be sure I don’t want another child for the wrong reasons, but I always come out of it with the same desire. My friend & manager at work just told me they are expecting their 4th – after trying 2 years and being blessed with twins just 14 months ago! We talked at great length about society’s expectations, the emotions she went through, and the changes that will happen. I am so happy for her – and for you!!! Each and every child is such an incredible blessing from the Lord ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

