{Parenting} Validation- Am I guilty of finding it in being a Mama?

By: Cindy Morrone

“Can I help you?” I asked.
“No, I got it.” She answered. These are the kind of responses I have been getting lately.

As I sit on my own, the house is too quiet! Yes, I really said that! It’s too quiet. I have already been able to do the things that needed to be done. Sure, the laundry is still running and the list goes on but there is currently nothing pressing. The really strange part is that I am not alone. My girlies are upstairs on their own, doing their own thing. It’s too quiet.

I used to pray for quiet, I used to pray for just a break. I hoped for time to go to the bathroom, time to brush my teeth without having to answer a question, time to sit and eat instead of near choking on my meal. I used to and then things changed.

It seemed all of a sudden but certainly not.

When they were younger I was near all consumed with being a Mama. Who would blame me, the demands are high. And I would be found guilty of neglecting other important relationships in my life; other ways to glorify and serve our Lord.

As I sit now though, I realize something happened along the way. Opportunity after opportunity for me to continue to become who I am in Christ happened. He made a way, when there seemed no way. He made a way for me to have a stronger marriage rooted in a deeper love; a life filled with family and friends ordained to share in moments; and possibilities to serve Him in unimaginable ways!

“I cry out to God Most High, to God, who fulfills his purpose for me.” (Psalm 57:2)

Being a Mama will remain the highest of callings. My dear sister-in-law shared with me that you never stop being a Mom; even when your precious ones no longer live with you. There is always room for a Mama’s kinda’ concern. And thankfully we still have plenty of boisterous and loud moments and I pray for many more to come!!

As my role of Mama morphs, I must continually seek God’s purpose in my life. And trust that He…”who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 1:6)

Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,
All praise, honour and glory to You! You are the King of kings and Lord of lords and worthy of all our praise! Thank You Father for allowing us the opportunity to serve and glorify You. Let us first and foremost follow in Your leading. In Jesus’ name we pray. Amen.

Leave a Reply

