{Faith} The legacy of giving all you have

By: Cindy Morrone

“Then Mary took about a pint of pure nard, an expensive perfume; she poured it on Jesus’ feet and wiped his feet with her hair. And the house was filled with the fragrance of the perfume.” (John 12:3)

We just celebrated my Grandmother’s 90th birthday. The party was held where she now resides, in a long term care facility. Over this past year, her body has severely declined. She can no longer talk, walk, move her right arm or leg and has such difficulty with swallowing. I was overcome with emotion as I watched her still be able to love on others.

Precious ones touched by her love throughout the years came also to celebrate. As they would bend down within her sight, she would reach out her hand and smile and nod. The touch was like receiving a heartfelt welcome when you need it the most.

To her, it doesn’t matter who you are, where you’ve come from or what you’ve done; you are loved and accepted just as you are. She brings us, the unglued, together in seamless unity. And you want to be near her because a love like hers is so rare.

As I watched her, I thought about Who gave her the strength to remain upright and awake. I pondered how she fought through the pain of uncooperative limbs and paralyzed vocal cords. And most of all, I marveled at the peace and love that overflowed from her and was received in our hearts.

When I grow up, I want to be just like her. I want to give it my all for the cause of love. I want to overcome my own difficulties, hurdles, inabilities, and sufferings to love on those God has so graciously placed within my hands’ reach.

Thank you Grandma, for loving me just as I am. Thank you for showing me Jesus kinda love. I have needed this love all my life and still need it now. Thank you for showing me how to love on others especially when it’s expensive. I love you so very much.

Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,
Thank You Lord, God for love! “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.” (John 3:16) Prepare our hearts Lord as we enter into this holy week; draw us to the foot of the cross and help us to see the rolled away stone! In our awe and thankfulness overflow our hearts with thanksgiving for eternal life until it spills over!! In Jesus’ precious and holy name, we pray. Amen!

2 comments

  1. Cindy, this is absolutely beautiful. Grandma has been such a wonderful example of unconditional love to all of us. What a priceless Blessing to all of us!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

