{EASTER GUEST POST} Get Well….

Get Well…

Written by: Megan Kincheloe

Just the other day, I was in the grocery store and heard a lady kindly say to another, “Get well.” I did not think much about the sentiment until I got in the car and then suddenly, on the way home, my Spirit began to stir. I started to think about this meaningful phrase and how often we speak these words to one another. We might say them when someone we love has a headache, a cold, the flu, a broken bone, or something much more significant. In fact, these two words are so popular, they have their own category in the Hallmark and Family Christian Bookstore card sections. I began to think, “Wouldn’t it be nice if it was just as simple as ‘getting well’ from Cancer or ‘getting well’ from Dementia…especially if you were able to ‘get well’ in the timeframe of ‘soon’ which is the third word that usually follows. I feel pretty certain that if folks were in control of ‘getting well’ on their own, we would see a lot less sickness in the world.

I started to feel extremely thankful that other than some minor things here and there, our family has been mostly healthy and we have not been on the receiving end of many ‘get well’ instructions. This led me to think about ‘getting well’ spiritually. After all, isn’t this what Easter is all about? You see, I have been a believer as far back as I can remember, however; I wouldn’t have considered myself to be spiritually healthy for most of my life. I was under the false impression that as long as I went to church on Sundays and asked for forgiveness using a blanket ‘Confession of Sins’ already preprinted in my bulletin, I was good to go! I never once considered how continuing my sinful lifestyle in between Sundays was grieving the Spirit and breaking the heart of my Heavenly Father. He provided salvation by way of the most ultimate sacrifice…the life of His one and only Son…and how was I showing appreciation?

Isaiah 53:5 states, “But he was pierced for our transgressions; he was crushed for our iniquities; upon him was the chastisement that brought us peace, and with his wounds we are healed.” HE WAS PIERCED FOR OUR TRANSGRESSIONS…our adultery, our alcoholism, our drug abuse, our lying, our stealing, our coveting, our hatred, our promiscuity; our perversion, our bullying…ALL OF OUR SINS. Friends, He has paid the price for every sin we have committed and every sin we will commit in the future. Is this not reason enough to make a decision to commit to Him? To follow Him with every ounce of our being? There is nothing we can do to earn our way into Heaven…but there is something we can do to become spiritually healthy. We can commit our lives to Christ and make Him the absolute center of our world. We can follow him wholeheartedly despite any persecution that may follow. He is worth it. Your salvation is worth it. Will you commit with me today to becoming spiritually healthy…soon?

Jesus says to the Samaritan Woman in John 4:13-14, “Everyone who drinks of this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks of the water that I will give him will never be thirsty again. The water that I will give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.” You may not have control over ‘getting well’ physically…but you do have control over this decision to be filled with the water He offers.

SUNDAY IS HERE! Mark 16:6, “And he said to them, ‘Do not be alarmed, you seek Jesus of Nazareth, who was crucified. He has risen; he is not here, See the place where they laid him.” Praise God…He is risen indeed!

image

Megan Kincheloe has been married to Chris for 10 years. They have a beautiful daughter, Graycie and another precious child on the way. She works with children and families in therapeutic foster care and she and Chris own a gun shop in Staunton, Virginia. Megan has been a believer her entire life but recommitted her life to Jesus several years ago and wholeheartedly desires to live a life that honors and glorifies Him. You can follow her blog HERE.

Leave a Reply

