{Marriage} His Temptations

By: Cindy Morrone

Our husbands struggle with temptations; just like we do. Some of their temptations are very similar to our own. Some of their lures however, may not be so familiar to us.

It is so difficult to see them wrestle with temptations. Some of the struggles are inward, like having feelings or thoughts that are contradictory to our God’s Word. Many are outward. Daily, they can be faced with countless traps; opportunities presented with values so different from their own. It could be billboards they pass, things seen on t.v. or the computer, read in magazines or what is heard in lunch room conversations. Some are direct interactions intended to harm. They are constantly battling the wrong.

Some of these enticements could directly affect our marriages and if he bends, the sin causes deep hurt.

What do we do?

Know Truth: “No temptation has seized you except what is common to man. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can stand up under it“(1 Corinthians 10:13)

We all battle with temptations and our husbands are included. They have an enemy just like we do that aims to devour (1 Peter 5:8) and steal, kill, and destroy (John 10:10) and ultimately attempts to separate us from our Father.

So what can we do for them?

Pray: Pray, so hard, for the lover of your life! Sometimes I will pray out loud for him and sometimes, as the Holy Spirit leads, I will pray for him with my hand on his shoulder or my arm wrapped around him without him hearing. I pray my heart out for him. I ask the Lord to protect him from the ploys meant to trap him and to give him wisdom and strength. I pray for the armour of God (Ephesians 6: 10-18) to suit him daily and when he is tempted, I pray that the Lord would provide a way out.

Come alongside him: This is probably the most difficult for me but as the years pass by the Lord is showing me, maturing me in my relationship with Him, so I can be there for my husband. When he does fall, when he is snared, I only push him further into the pit with my condemnation and accusations. But when I can allow him to share what he is struggling with and truly listen, we share the battle. Then together we lay the war at our heavenly Father’s throne of grace and stand firm!

Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,
Your grace is all sufficient (2 Corinthians 12:8) and Your love and compassions never fail (Lamentations 3:22 & 23). Help us Lord, to help our husbands as You have called us. Help us to help them, in a way that invites sharing and not condemnation out of fear or selfish attitudes. Help us to pray for them and come alongside them as directed by the Holy Spirit and not our own thoughts or ways. For You, Lord God are our portion and shield and our hope is in You. We trust You and not our own efforts and we ask You to, “And lead us not into temptation but deliver us from the evil one.” (Matthew 6:13) We pray these things in Your Son’s holy and precious name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

