{Marriage} You have a calling, but your husband isn’t (yet) on board….what do you do?

By: Cindy Morrone

“In him we were also chosen, having been predestined according to the plan of him who works out everything in conformity with the purpose of his will, in order that we, who were the first to hope in Christ, might be for the praise of his glory.” (Ephesians 1: 11& 12)

As I continue to reflect on the God callings in my life, I can’t help but notice what God has taught me in these experiences, not just as a daughter of God but also as a wife. I have realized that my spiritual journey affects my husband as well.

In the past, I have to admit that there were times I picked up that calling and ran with it; with or without my husband!! I was sure I heard from the Lord and so I pressed on unbridled, running over anyone in my wake, yes, even him. Convinced that God had called us into something; convinced that my husband has been reluctant to change or move forward, I pushed and shoved dragging him behind. God’s will was still surely done, but longer routes were taken and there were many scrapes, bruises and scars endured.

Since the Lord has grown me spiritually, I can now wait on God’s timing and know now to not proceed unless directed by the Lord, holding my husband’s hand. I wait upon Him; step by step. “Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.” (Proverbs 3:5&6)

When the Lord is preparing my heart for a direction, I share these calling inclinations with my husband but try not to persuade, convince, sway or even influence; just share. Instead, I try to trust that the Lord will direct my husband in the way he should go; in the way we should go as a married couple. And the Lord has never failed us!

During the waiting, I love on him; honour him and pray for him. Again God’s will is done but this time the yoke was easy and the burden was light (Matthew 11:30).

Be excited about God’s callings; His will, will be done, we need not doubt that!! Let God be God!

Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,
Thank You Lord, God for Your callings in our lives; we surrender all to You! How exciting when You call us as a married couple to live out the impossible with You; for with You all things are possible (Matthew19:26). Help us Lord, to not get ahead of ourselves and follow You step by step as You lead us, in Jesus’ name we pray. Amen.

Leave a Reply

